Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Beast (Grens & Sundkvist #1)” as Want to Read:
The Beast (Grens & Sundkvist #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

The Beast (Grens & Sundkvist #1)

3.63 of 5 stars 3.63  ·  rating details  ·  896 ratings  ·  56 reviews
Two children are found dead in a basement. Four years later, their murderer escapes from prison. The police know if he is not found quickly, he will kill again. But when their worst fears come true and another child is murdered, the situation spirals out of control. In an atmosphere of hysteria whipped up by the media, Fredrik Steffansson, father of the murdered child, dec ...more
Paperback, 346 pages
Published March 1st 2007 by Abacus (UK) (first published 2004)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Beast, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Beast

The Shipping News by Annie ProulxSmilla's Sense of Snow by Peter HøegSnow Falling on Cedars by David GutersonThe Golden Compass by Philip PullmanThe Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
Best Books on the North
52nd out of 184 books — 52 voters
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg LarssonFaceless Killers by Henning MankellThe Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest by Stieg LarssonSmilla's Sense of Snow by Peter HøegThe Bat by Jo Nesbø
Glass Key Award Winners
24th out of 48 books — 14 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 3,000)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Nancy Oakes
Oh dear god. This may be one of the most graphic crime novels I've ever read, and one of the most unsettling books as well. I read a lot, and this one really got me. I'm STILL thinking about it.

From the outset the reader is sucked directly into the mind of a psychopathic sex offender, Bernt Lund, a very sick pedophile who preys on young girls. And it's not pretty, not at all. After he kidnaps and kills two girls he is caught & put into a sex offender unit in prison after being diagnosed with
...more
Charlene Intriago
Pedophilia - it's a terrible subject matter - and the author is pretty graphic about it in this book. We start off with a pedophile, Bernt Lund, who escapes while being transferred from prison to a hospital. That sets up what I felt was the major storyline of this book - that of a grieving father, Fredrik Steffanson, and what he does when his daughter Marie is murdered. There are lots of subplots in this book and info about life and the social hierarchy within a Swedish prison. I'm not sure I li ...more
Toni Osborne
Book 1, in the Ewert Grens series

Being engaged in a book about pedophilia, torture, human savagery and prisons can be quite a challenge. These co-authors know only one way to get from point A to point B: straight and to the point. This thriller is absolute darkness, a masterful reflection on the concept of justice. It is not the run of the mill mystery and not for everyone.

This story is raw especially at first. But as difficult as it may be, this rawness is for us to reflect on the second part
...more
Naomi
I must do a warning before I do my review. THIS BOOK IS PROBABLY ONE OF THE MOST GRAPHIC NORDIC MYSTERIES I HAVE EVER READ...and I read alot of them. It is not for the faint of heart.

That aside, it is one of the best nordic mysteries I have ever read. Heartbreaking with the subject matter, the book sucked me in from page 1 and didn't let go. Def. this is a new Nordic author, that I love and will continue to follow.

One complaint that I do have that really doesn't involve the author but more the g
...more
Skip
A very disturbing story: the escape during transport of convicted pedophile and child-killer, Bernt Lund, who subsequently abducts and mutilates a young girl from the safety of her elementary schoolyard. The real story is about her divorced father, Fredrik Steffansson, who takes the law into his own hands, tracking down the sadist before the police can do so and putting him down. The book is overly graphic, and the main storyline is resolved too early, with only a marginal role for Inspector Ewe ...more
BoekenTrol
http://www.bookcrossing.com/journal/8...

Een geweldig boek. Het was geen leuk boek, niet met een kinderverkrachter / -moordenaar in een hoofdrol en al het leed en verdriet dat hij veroorzaakt.
Wat ik bijzonder goed vond is, dat het boek als het ware voortrolt. Dat wat komt, dat wat gebeurt lijkt onvermijdelijk. Mensen maken keuzes, weloverwogen of in een opwelling, maar de gevolgen erna nemen een onvermijdelijke loop.
Het einde was heel zuur. Maar ondanks dat het boek geen goed einde heeft, is het
...more
Sercan Vatansever
çok 'iğrenç' bir kitap. çocuklara yapılan işkenceler falan, hiç bana göre değildi. ilk kez bir kitapta bu kadar çok açık sözlü küfür görüyorum. sevmememin sebebi sadece bunlar değildi. anlatış biçimleri çok kötü. saçma, gereksiz ayrıntılarla dolu. diyaloglarda kimin hagi cümleyi söylediği belli değil... önermiyorum yani :D
Kelly McCoy
This book was so violent and sick I couldn't finish it. Horrible torture scenes that involve children. I bought it last time I was in Canada, as far as I know it's not available in the US.
Danijel
Uhvatio sam se ovih nordijskih krimića u zadnje vrijeme, što nije ni čudno kad su iznimno popularni i prevođeni u zadnje vrijeme; jednostavno ih ne možeš zaobići! ;) Tako da nakon što sam apsolvirao Joa Nesba (tri prva romana, ostali slijede kasnije) i oduševio se njime, osjećam strašan poriv da krenem dalje s djelima švedskog dvojca Roslund/Hellström. Rekao bih da je Roslundovo spisateljsko umijeće blagotvorno obogaćeno Hellstromovom specijalizacijom iz zatvorskog života i onog zločinačkog aspe ...more
The Writer
Believe it or not, I am still pretty much shaken after I finished the last page in this book whose title can be translated into “The Monster” in English.

The book is pretty much like John Grisham’s A time to kill, only with less boring court procession and judicial texts and more “action”.

The story starts with a convicted pædophile Bernt Lund escaping from a jail bus and roaming free. The whole Sweden was in uproar when this happened since Lund was found guilty for the rape, torture and murder of
...more
The Writer
Believe it or not, I am still pretty much shaken after I finished the last page in this book whose title can be translated into “The Monster” in English.

The book is pretty much like John Grisham’s A time to kill, only with less boring court procession and judicial texts and more “action”.

The story starts with a convicted pædophile Bernt Lund escaping from a jail bus and roaming free. The whole Sweden was in uproar when this happened since Lund was found guilty for the rape, torture and murder of
...more
Sandy Huskisson
A powerful, thought provoking book.
Having never read any nordic crime fiction before, I found this experience refreshing. Whilst the book deals with the sensitive issue of child abuse, I feel that the authors handle it very well, looking at many conflicting views on sex offenders and people's attitudes and values towards to them. The characters in the book were multi-dimensional; the authors giving us enough of an insight into their private lives to get to know the characters and empathise with
...more
Weaverannie
Er staat een pistooltje achter op het boek, dat ik van de bibliotheek haalde. Het is dus een misdaad- of speurdersroman. Het is waar: er worden een paar mensen vermoord. Toch vind ik het meer een psychologische roman. Een verhaal over oorzaken en gevolgen. Waarom handelt iemand zoals hij handelt? Wat drijft de mens?
Een kindermoordenaar is ontsnapt aan de twee bewakers, die hem met een busje naar het ziekenhuis brachten voor behandeling. Hij heeft in het verleden twee meisjes gruwelijk mishandeld
...more
Ingrid Verschelling
Een jaar geleden las ik al een boek van het schrijversduo Anders Roslund en Börge Hellström. Drie seconden maakte veel indruk, omdat het goed geschreven en ontzettend spannend was. Vaderwraak is de debuutroman van dit duo.

Tijdens een gevangenistransport ontsnapt een kindermoordenaar, Bernt Lund. Hij heeft twee meisjes van negen jaar verkracht en vermoord. Het is onvermijdelijk, dat hij weer slachtoffers maakt. Als dit dan inderdaad gebeurt met een meisje van vijf jaar, beslist de vader om het re
...more
Merja Pohjola
Very very hard for a parent to read....(BTW read it in finnish "Peto", meaning "Beast" - added later - it's called "The Monster" in English - a much more suitable title IMO!). Pedofilia is an awful subject and it makes you think what you would do in a similar situation - against death penalty, but if someone took away the one that makes your life worth living... what would you do? I am not gonna reveal what I would - but the ending was quite surprising and it really makes you think. Like the aut ...more
Paul Frost
Stunning debut novel (I came to this one after reading later books which I highly rated too).

The first part is very stomach churning in places - but I think it really needed to be to get the right emotions in place for the second half.

Exactly how do we, as individuals & society as a whole, deal with sadistic paedophiles & lesser "peddo's & perverts".
Phillipa
This one was okay and translated well. I quite liked the ending but it had extra bits in the middle that just seemed to be there purely as a comment on humanity that didn't really have that much to do with the central story-line. There are far more better written stories in the same genre.
Lena Foster
Svensk titel: Odjuret.
Otäck eftersom det var barn som for illa, men skrämmande o bra
Dragan
Cody McFayden shocked me ,but thoose two wrote a book that can't be forgotten easily!Just to say ,last pages made a sharp stone in my throat I couldn't swallow-It burns still.
???!!!
Jul 14, 2013 ???!!! rated it 2 of 5 stars
Shelves: 2013
Now I am sure the only book I love from this author is "three seconds". Smetimes I wondered whether it is from the same author because its just so drastically different. This book reminds me of A Time to Kill which I also didn't love, by the way. Yes, I got what the author was trying to get and agree with him. But it seemed like there's only that one story and the author just try, very hard, to wrap round and round that one story.
Glennie
Gritty and graphic. VERY graphic. Hard to read in places. Fast-paced and you can't put it down. It was also an interesting look at the Swedish prison system. One character was able to have a 6 hour leave, unescorted to whatever he wanted. And it was extremely strange that F. could not have access to radio, TV or newspapers, and only allowed visits from his lawyer, while BL could have a TON of child porn in his cell! Very strange,,,,quite different than American prison system where the child porn ...more
Mert
The ending was great.
Tom
Mar 10, 2014 Tom marked it as to-read
Grena & Sundkvist #1
verbava
у цій книжці були два хороші моменти: скажено іронічний фінал і образ масової людини, яка раптом вирішила, що їй дали карт-бланш – взагалі-то вбивати людей заборонено, але якщо вони (підставте свій варіант), то можна. чіпляє актуальністю. шкода, що воно прописано так грубо, мало не гротесково, за гранню фолу. в принципі, майже вся книжка так написана, то чого дивуватися з окремих образів.
і в разі чого: по-перше, це не скандинавський детектив, усього скандинавського там - імена й топоніми. по-дру
...more
Eva
3 stars because I expected a crime story or a police procedural. Too instructive in places as if they were elaborating on the topic why people shouldn't take law in their hand. All well and good but can it last for 344 pages? Their style of writing appealed to me. What I liked most were the main character's thoughts (sentences) interrupted with description what was going on in the court as I haven't seen anything like this anywhere else. No strong policeman's character. Let's see what their othe ...more
Stan Lanier
While there are some very disturbing depictions in this book because it deals with the rape/murder of children, the novel attempts to set forth the problems inherent in vigilante justice. The authors, one a journalist and one an ex-inmate, produce a world that seems,at times intolerably, realistic. Their first work translated from Swedish to English, THE BEAST introduces this writing duo of Swedish crime fiction. This effort is worthy of followup with their two other translated works.
Ben Burhouse
Absolutely amazing book, well written and structured these two authors never fail to impress.
Ana
this book was INCREDIBLE!!! i couldnt put it down. i thought it was going to be this creepy and very detailed account of a pedophile rapist who escaped from prison....but then things twisted and turned and....just when i thought the book was over....something else happened...and then something else on top of that to blow everything up into an AMAZING read! it was like reading 2 books in 1 i loved it and highly recommend this sick twisted tale!
Laura
This is a really dark and disturbing book - like you don't want to read it if your kids are in the room. While it's a crime novel about pedophiles, it's also about justice and human nature, and makes some excellent point. The violence, while quite graphic, isn't gratuitous and it's well-written and the language is concise. This is a really good book and well worth checking out.
Katy
Read-alike for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo... looks like it starts off with kidnapped kids, so probably pretty dark. Hoping it has the same tone, been reading all over the place this month!

*Update: This book had a much more gruesome storyline than any of Larrson's work, but the tone is similar. More preachy in its resolution, but an enjoyable read.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 99 100 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Echoes from the Dead (The Öland Quartet #1)
  • Burned (Henning Juul #1)
  • Death Angels (Inspector Winter, #1)
  • Unseen (Anders Knutas, #1)
  • Dark Secrets (Sebastian Bergman, #1)
  • Between Summer's Longing and Winter's End (The Fall of the Welfare State, #1)
  • Sun Storm (Rebecka Martinsson, #1)
  • The Fourth Man
  • Blackwater
  • Studio sex (Annika Bengtzon, #1)
  • The Hand That Trembles (Ann Lindell, #8)
  • Snow Angels (Inspector Kari Vaara, #1)
  • Furðustrandir (Inspector Erlendur #11)
  • Unwanted (Fredrika Bergman and Alex Recht, #1)
  • Mind's Eye (Inspector Van Veeteren #1)
  • Frozen Moment (Christian Tell, #1)
  • Missing
  • Lime's Photograph
676070
Anders Roslund is a Swedish author and journalist. He is the founder and former head of Kulturnyheterna (Culture News) on SVT, Sweden's national television broadcaster. For many years he worked as a news reporter – specializing in criminal and social issues – and as an Editor-in-chief at Rapport and Aktuellt, the two major News programmes on SVT.

Roslund regularly collaborates with Börge Hellström,
...more
More about Anders Roslund...
Three Seconds (Grens & Sundkvist #5) Cell 8 The Vault (Grens & Sundkvist #2) Flickan under gatan Two Soldiers

Share This Book

No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »