Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Barren Lands : An Epic Search For Diamonds in the North American Arctic” as Want to Read:
Barren Lands : An Epic Search For Diamonds in the North American Arctic
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Barren Lands : An Epic Search For Diamonds in the North American Arctic

4.36 of 5 stars 4.36  ·  rating details  ·  11 ratings  ·  3 reviews

In the tradition of Sebastian' Junger's The Perfect Storm and Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air, Barren Lands is the extraordinary tale of two small-time prospectors who risked their lives to discover $17 billion worth of diamonds in the desolate tundra of the far north.

In the late 1970's, two men set out on a twenty-year search for a North American gem mine, along a fabled pat
...more
Hardcover, 464 pages
Published October 16th 2001 by Times
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Barren Lands , please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Barren Lands

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-20 of 20)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Steve Walsh
Krajick paints a full spectrum view of the minerals industry as well as the lengths people will go to achieve their goals. Barren Lands is a prime example of what explorers, prospectors, and exploration geologists must endure to make that once-in-a-lifetime find. The book does a good job exposing the borderline insanity and life threatening risks that go into this profession. The beginning paints the backdrop exceptionally well, showing what such an isolated place does to a person; both physical ...more
Lotte
Krajick fictionalizes to some degree the search for diamonds in the Barren Lands in the Canadian north. This is not a problem for me. It makes this book more readable. He gives details of events and conversations where he was not present and no one was keeping accurate records of any kind - they were mostly trying to stay alive.

I found the factual passages regarding the geology of finding diamonds a bit tedious but even so I read them with some interest. The last half of the book I could hardly
...more
Shiva
Makes want to switch from soft sed to hard rock.
Johnathan Savard
Johnathan Savard marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2015
Michael
Michael marked it as to-read
Apr 18, 2014
Andy
Andy marked it as to-read
Aug 08, 2013
Michael
Michael marked it as to-read
Dec 09, 2011
Ross
Ross marked it as to-read
May 28, 2008
Jake
Jake added it
Apr 21, 2008
Rachel
Rachel marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2007
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Barren Lands: An Epic Search For Diamonds in the North American Artic Barren Lands Barren Lands: An Epic Search for Diamonds in the North American Arctic Intervention on Trial: The New York War Crimes Tribunal on Central America and the Caribbean

Share This Book