First Comes Baby
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating

First Comes Baby

by
3.77 of 5 stars 3.77  ·  rating details  ·  69 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Laurel Woodall dreams of having a baby. But she can't let herself fall in love and will never again let a man in her life....

Caleb Manes thinks Laurel is his future. When he hears she wants to have a baby on her own, he volunteers to be the father. Making a baby in this unconventional manner isn't the best way to further a relationship with Laurel, but it might lead to som...more
ebook, Harlequin Superromance #1405, 288 pages
Published January 2011 by Harlequin (first published March 2007)
more details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30 of 186)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  rating details
Julianna
Jun 04, 2008 Julianna rated it 4 of 5 stars  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Pregnancy & Best Friends Themes in Romance
First Comes Baby is a sweet, tender love story about two best friends who decide to have a baby together, but not in the usual way. Laurel was brutally raped about five years earlier and is not sure that she ever wants to have a physical relationship with any man again, but she longs for a child and decides that she would like to have one via IVF. Enter her best friend Caleb who willingly volunteers for the job of fathering her baby. Of course, babies always change things and their case is no ex...more
Jacqueline
Nicely done story of a rape victim who asks a friend to help her have a child through AI. He has loved her for 10 years but she doesn't know. As he sticks by her through her pregnancy and the first few months after the baby is born she begins to overcome her fears from the attack. Well written with believable emotion from both the hero and heroine. He was a very nice kind man who had promised years ago to always be her friend and he never let her push him away. The pace was good and the plot mad...more
Joy
The heroine of this book, the victim of a brutal rape, wants to have a child but can't stand to be touched by a man. Seeking a sperm donor, she asks a friend--only to have another friend (the hero) insist on fathering her child. As her pregnancy proceeds, will she be able to overcome her past and be together with this man who obviously loves her? An interesting book for an artificial-insemination rape-recovery romance (!); a touching love story, and the psychological profile of the heroine espec...more
Tia
Read this in 2011, yet never reviewed it. I thought the novel was great and I can't help but adore the whole pregnancy/secret baby scandal type novels. This one was obviously a bit different than the regulars but was still enough to light my fire.
Cecilia
I probably wouldn't have read this if I'd known exactly why the heroine was determined to have a baby in this way, but the main characters were both likable, and the story was persuasive and touching.
Mel
As with all of these books, a tried and tested formula. A little sweet, a little stupid, but light and easy

Always good for a quick read
Amanda
Amanda added it
Jul 11, 2014
Desi Alonso
Desi Alonso marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2014
Asteropê
Asteropê marked it as to-read
May 29, 2014
Hannah
Hannah marked it as to-read
May 17, 2014
Marsha
Marsha marked it as to-read
May 11, 2014
Mindy
Mindy added it
Apr 27, 2014
Mandy
Mandy marked it as to-read
Apr 26, 2014
Zlatathebookworm
Zlatathebookworm marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2014
Charlene
Charlene marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2014
Carola
Carola marked it as to-read
Mar 15, 2014
Kayla
Kayla marked it as to-read
Mar 12, 2014
Barbra
Barbra marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2014
Jennifer Boyett
Jennifer Boyett marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2014
LuCreader
LuCreader marked it as to-read
Jan 27, 2014
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
70697
Janice Kay Johnson is the author of sixty books for children and adults. Her first four published romance novels were coauthored with her mother, also a writer who has since published mysteries and children's books on her own. These were "sweet" romance novels, the author hastens to add; she isn't sure they'd have felt comfortable coauthoring passionate love scenes!

Janice graduated from Whitman Co...more
More about Janice Kay Johnson...
Snowbound Her Sister's Baby Whose Baby? From Father to Son Match Made In Court

Share This Book