Jill Brock

more photos (4)




Angel
3,177 books | 5,001 friends

Roslyn
132 books | 274 friends

Debra C...
1,384 books | 262 friends

Denise
984 books | 43 friends

Rex Fuller
418 books | 2,164 friends

Hira
1,774 books | 2 friends

C. Brown
47 books | 328 friends

Tiffunee
1,935 books | 2,594 friends

More friends…



Jill Brock

Goodreads Author


Born
New York City, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
February 2010

URL


Jill Brock, a native New Yorker began writing poetry and short stories in high school. She has been an avid reader since childhood.

Majoring in Fine Arts and psychology, she turned toward the creative arts therapies for her career. Later, when she returned to her love of books and writing she decided she wanted to write a book. Several attempts and manuscripts later, she had written her first, Pennywise, loosely based on her experience of running a restaurant, being one of three sisters and growing up in Queens, New York.

She began the Maggie and Odessa Mystery series because she wanted to reflect the multicultural world that surrounded her, her sense of humor and her love of mysteries. Four books into the series, she is starting a new seri
...more

To ask Jill Brock questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Jill Brock I never write a book as if I had something to say or to make a point. It always starts off as this story I want to tell. Whether the story comes from…moreI never write a book as if I had something to say or to make a point. It always starts off as this story I want to tell. Whether the story comes from an idea or an event in my life, it doesn’t matter. I get this story in my head and I fill it with actors and scenes. Before long I have the need to put it on paper. I need to tell this story to someone. Unfortunately, I sometimes write myself into a corner and get out. That’s when I have to step away, read something else, or not thinking about writing at all. If that doesn’t work, I try to talk it out with someone until I get some clarity. (less)
Jill Brock The first thing I realized when I finished my first story was the freedom I had to write about anything and anyone. I was limited only by my…moreThe first thing I realized when I finished my first story was the freedom I had to write about anything and anyone. I was limited only by my imagination and my creativity. I wanted to build up worlds and tear them down. And if I wanted a happy ending I could have it. The most important that I love about writing, is the ability to tell this story that has been stuck in my head forever :)(less)
Average rating: 3.87 · 67 ratings · 24 reviews · 11 distinct works · Similar authors
Pennywise

3.79 avg rating — 24 ratings — published 2007 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Semisweet: A Maggie and Ode...

4.18 avg rating — 17 ratings — published 2010 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Drop Dead Delicious: A Magg...

3.81 avg rating — 16 ratings — published 2008 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Chasing Cherry

4.17 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
Chasing Cherry

really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Thursday Night Killers ...

it was ok 2.00 avg rating — 1 rating — published 2016
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Thursday Night Killers ...

did not like it 1.00 avg rating — 1 rating — published 2016
Rate this book
Clear rating
CANCER and FOOD: What No On...

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Chasing Cherry

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
Semisweet

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2010
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Jill Brock…

Recently, I’ve been very particular with my reading list. I’ve looked out for stories written in a certain perspective, or technique. A tendency to get caught up in a style of writing that takes several books to satisfy. Though I always love a mystery, I’ve fallen into the military Sci-fi genre, please don’t ask me why. I’ve yet to answer that one myself. Romance, of course, if I can’t have the...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on January 01, 2017 13:01 • 1 view

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Explaining Everything (Poetry)
1 chapters   —   updated May 13, 2015 06:36PM
Description: A collection of poerty
Blood on the Tracks
Jill is currently reading
by Barbara Nickless (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Secrets of Sl...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Friends and F...
Jill is currently reading
by K.E. Mullins (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Jill’s Recent Updates

Jill is now friends with Chris Law
63772201
Jill wants to read
Some Kind of Hero by Suzanne Brockmann
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jill finished reading
End of Watch by Stephen King
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jill has read
American Gods by Neil Gaiman
American Gods (American Gods, #1)
by Neil Gaiman (Goodreads Author)
read in October, 2016
Rate this book
Clear rating
As always, Gaiman never disappoints.
Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jill rated a book really liked it
Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly
Rate this book
Clear rating
It's amazing how much history is missing. I commend the author for allowing us to read the story of these women, who not only had to better because of their sex, but for the color as well. Well done.
Jill made a comment in the group Support for Indie AuthorsWordblot? topic
" Has anyone heard of the site Wordblot. It's said to be a site that connects readers to writers by the plots. Just curious! "
Jill is currently reading
Blood on the Tracks by Barbara Nickless
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jill is currently reading
The Secrets of Slade Sanders by S.D. Smith
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jill wants to read
Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Jill's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Fans of Interraci...: Sometimes It's Hard to Tell When Not to Be Offended About Race & Stereotypes in Books 18 92 Oct 11, 2010 07:17AM  
Goodreads Author ...: ACX @ Amazon 12 75 Jul 05, 2013 02:19PM  
Cozy Mysteries : This topic has been closed to new comments. Title and Author Game - Archived 12154 1368 Jul 15, 2013 11:58AM  
Fans of Interraci...: IR Mystery Books or Series 21 63 Feb 16, 2016 04:00PM  
Cozy Mystery Corner : Cozy Titles A-Z 2118 490 Mar 19, 2016 08:52PM  
Cozy Mysteries : This topic has been closed to new comments. Title and Author Game, Round 2 15697 1014 Mar 21, 2016 09:15AM  
Goodreads Authors...: * Post/View a Book Video/Trailer 1931 2845 Dec 03, 2016 03:54PM  
“If you don't stand for something you will fall for anything.”
Gordon A. Eadie

Jim Henson
“Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and it may be necessary from time to time to give a stupid or misinformed beholder a black eye.”
Jim Henson

Molly Harper
“I am your sire. I am to guide you through your first days as a vampire. Your first feeding is a rite of passage, a sacrament. It will not be wasted on some hormone-driven frenzy. This is why I wanted you to feed from me.”
“I will not drink it in a house, I will not drink it with a mouse. I will not drink it here or there, I will not drink it anywhere,” I wheezed, hoping I was able to communicate adequate sarcasm through the crippling belly cramps.
“Did you just quote Green Eggs and Ham?”
Molly Harper, Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs

Stephen King
“When you're twenty-one, life is a roadmap. It's only when you get to be twenty-five or so that you begin to suspect that you've been looking at the map upside down, and not until you're forty are you entirely sure. By the time you're sixty, take it from me, you're fucking lost.”
Stephen King, Joyland

154447 Support for Indie Authors — 8600 members — last activity 9 minutes ago
I began this group in January 2015 to support fellow indie authors by featuring them on my website blog. Since then it has turned into a great resourc ...more
31471 Goodreads Author Feedback Group — 9555 members — last activity 37 minutes ago
This is the official group for authors to give Goodreads feedback about the site, including the Goodreads Author Program, Ask the Author, the newslett ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 25916 members — last activity 2 hours, 47 min ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
13439 Fans of Interracial Romance — 2247 members — last activity 15 hours, 25 min ago
In this group, we believe that love transcends bounds of race and ethnicity. Love is about the heart and soul, not the color of someone's skin. This g ...more
1357 Cozy Mysteries — 8152 members — last activity 52 minutes ago
For those who love a good cozy mystery while curled up on the couch with a cup of coffee/tea/cocoa and maybe a dog/cat next to them. Please be kind an ...more
18340 Second Wind Publishing — 573 members — last activity Sep 22, 2013 02:33PM
Second Wind Publishing, LLC, is an independent press that produces quality novels by talented storytellers with readable, distinctive voices. http://s ...more
37092 Writers and Readers — 2400 members — last activity 58 minutes ago
A group for writers and readers to meet and discuss books and the writing process.
25x33 Central Library Book Club — 4 members — last activity May 03, 2013 12:37PM
This is a discussion group for the members of the Central Library Book Club in Queens, NY, and those who wish to join us. We post upcoming events and ...more
16084 The Write Vision — 304 members — last activity Jul 17, 2016 09:57PM
Write the vision! Have you completed your vision (book), and now want to share it with the world? This is the group for you! We will discuss the proce ...more
438 NY words — 54 members — last activity Oct 22, 2015 05:11PM
A group for new york writers and readers...to suggest and/or promote their own work
More of Jill’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.