Tahir Shah

more photos (1)


#37 top librarians
#4 most followed



Austin ...
58 books | 1,298 friends

Diana A...
153 books | 534 friends

Dee Waite
281 books | 5,001 friends

Jane Go...
305 books | 2,414 friends

Mark Br...
866 books | 243 friends

Iset
1,189 books | 104 friends

Ita
Ita
56 books | 11 friends

Sue Watson
32 books | 236 friends

More friends…



Tahir Shah

Goodreads Author


url

born
in London, The United Kingdom
gender
male

website

twitter username

genre

influences

member since
March 2012


About this author

Tahir Shah is the author of fifteen books, many of which chronicle a wide range of outlandish journeys through Africa, Asia and the Americas. For him, there’s nothing so important as deciphering the hidden underbelly of the lands through which he travels. Shunning well-trodden tourist paths, he avoids celebrated landmarks, preferring instead to position himself on a busy street corner or in a dusty café and observe life go by. Insisting that we can all be explorers, he says there’s wonderment to be found wherever we are – it’s just a matter of seeing the world with fresh eyes.

In the tradition of A Thousand and One Nights, Shah's first 2013 release, SCORPION SOUP, is a treasury of nested tales. One linking effortlessly into the next, the sto
...more


Average rating: 4.05 · 6,218 ratings · 880 reviews · 26 distinct works · Similar authors
The Caliph's House: A Year ...
3.97 of 5 stars 3.97 avg rating — 3,296 ratings — published 2006 — 25 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
In Arabian Nights: A Carava...
4.08 of 5 stars 4.08 avg rating — 975 ratings — published 2007 — 16 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sorcerer's Apprentice
4.25 of 5 stars 4.25 avg rating — 550 ratings — published 1998 — 19 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
In Search of King Solomon's...
3.82 of 5 stars 3.82 avg rating — 353 ratings — published 2002 — 14 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Trail of Feathers: In Searc...
3.99 of 5 stars 3.99 avg rating — 274 ratings — published 2001 — 10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Timbuctoo
4.24 of 5 stars 4.24 avg rating — 172 ratings — published 2012 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
House of the Tiger King: Th...
4.17 of 5 stars 4.17 avg rating — 78 ratings — published 2004 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beyond The Devil's Teeth
4.36 of 5 stars 4.36 avg rating — 75 ratings — published 1995 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Scorpion Soup: A story in a...
4.49 of 5 stars 4.49 avg rating — 93 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Casablanca Blues
4.52 of 5 stars 4.52 avg rating — 52 ratings — published 2013 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Tahir Shah…

The treasure of TimbuctooMany thanks to those of you were able to attend my Reddit AMA live. For those who were unable to attend, I’ll be sharing a selection of questions and answers over the next couple of weeks. To view the entire AMA, please click the above link.


Q. Do you have any thoughts about the future of libraries to share?


A. On nights when I cannot sleep, i dream that I’m stepping into a massive, ancient e...

Read more of this blog post »
1 like · Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on July 14, 2014 03:51 • 127 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Tahir's Recent Updates

Tahir Shah is now friends with Ezra Hewing
44378116
" Many thanks to all of you for reading! I appreciate it. I'll check back again in a few days to see if there are any final questions. "
Tahir Shah added a photo
" Indeed! "
Tahir Shah said "yes" to attending Ask Me Anything on reddit
7102
date: June 21, 2013 05:00PM
location: http://redd.it/1gstn2, Morocco
description: Ask me anything on reddit!
Tahir Shah made a comment in the group Q&A with Tahir ShahSelf Publishing topic
" Hi Toni,

Self-publishing doesn't have to be crazily expensive... you can start off publishing a manuscripot as an eBook and then do it as a Lulu.com pr
...more "
Tahir Shah made a comment in the group Q&A with Tahir ShahScorpion Soup topic
" Hi Ryan, I think the best way to reach this answer is not to search for it, but allow the answer to find you. I often get all swept up on a trail and ...more "
Tahir Shah made a comment in the group Q&A with Tahir ShahEye Spy topic
" Thank you, Ita. Yes, revenge is strong in Occidental society, just as it is in the Orient. I sometimes gets very worked up and angry and find myself h ...more "
Scorpion Soup by Tahir Shah
"A magical tale told majestically by a consummate teller of tales. The sort of story that enriches the reader and enables them to reconnect with their imagination. Highly recommended."
More of Tahir's books…
“Settling into a new country is like getting used to a new pair of shoes. At first they pinch a little, but you like the way they look, so you carry on. The longer you have them, the more comfortable they become. Until one day without realizing it you reach a glorious plateau. Wearing those shoes is like wearing no shoes at all. The more scuffed they get, the more you love them and the more you can't imagine life without them.”
Tahir Shah, In Arabian Nights: A Caravan of Moroccan Dreams

“My father used to say that stories are part of the most precious heritage of mankind.”
Tahir Shah, In Arabian Nights: A Caravan of Moroccan Dreams

“A journey, I reflected, is of no merit unless it has tested you.”
Tahir Shah, In Search of King Solomon's Mines

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.”
Augustine of Hippo

“This too shall pass.”
سنایی غزنوی

“Everything can be taken from you in a second, but the human spirit is so strong. War can teach you so much about evil, and so much about good.”
Zainab Salbi

“There is a saying in Tibetan, 'Tragedy should be utilized as a source of strength.'
No matter what sort of difficulties, how painful experience is, if we lose our hope, that's our real disaster.”
Dalai Lama XIV

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”
Lao Tzu

72010 Q&A with Tahir Shah — 101 members — last activity Apr 10, 2014 02:54PM
Goodreads Author Tahir Shah will be available June 5th, 2013 to answer your questions. Dear Readers, It's a pleasure to connect with you here on Goodr ...more
97 Great African Reads — 1350 members — last activity 8 hours, 58 min ago
Current banner photo: Sunrise on Dune 45, Namib Desert by Dietmar Temps This is a place for people who love Africa and a way, therefore, of sharing gr ...more
4550 Regency Era Novels — 546 members — last activity Jul 03, 2015 06:39AM
Let's talk about your favorite regency era historicals. Old and new authors! What do you like?
220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 51087 members — last activity 11 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
21875 UK Book Club — 3850 members — last activity 37 minutes ago
This is a book group for GoodReads users in the UK, but members from other countries are welcome too so long as all posts are made in English. The gro ...more
86755 Indie-Licious — 406 members — last activity Apr 19, 2015 08:13AM
A place for readers and writers to connect in an Indie-Licious world.
52937 Around the World in 80 Books — 8431 members — last activity 3 hours, 14 min ago
Reading takes you places. Where in the world will your next book take you? If you love world literature and exploring the world through books, you hav ...more
More of Tahir’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.