Dorothea Lasky




Tom
Tom
4,365 books | 84 friends

Kelli A...
0 books | 1,604 friends

Peycho ...
1,409 books | 4,189 friends

Okla El...
50 books | 1,152 friends

Moinak ...
3 books | 401 friends

Reb
Reb
1,381 books | 597 friends

Stephen
596 books | 318 friends

Tao
Tao
123 books | 3,416 friends

More friends…



Dorothea Lasky

Goodreads Author


born
in The United States
gender
female

website

genre

member since
March 2007

About this author


Average rating: 4.21 · 1,111 ratings · 134 reviews · 12 distinct works · Similar authors
Awe
4.13 of 5 stars 4.13 avg rating — 371 ratings — published 2007 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Black Life
4.3 of 5 stars 4.30 avg rating — 260 ratings — published 2010
Rate this book
Clear rating
Thunderbird
4.16 of 5 stars 4.16 avg rating — 217 ratings — published 2012 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rome: Poems
3.87 of 5 stars 3.87 avg rating — 93 ratings — published 2014 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Poetry is Not a Project
4.55 of 5 stars 4.55 avg rating — 77 ratings — published 2010
Rate this book
Clear rating
TOURMALINE
4.71 of 5 stars 4.71 avg rating — 31 ratings — published 2008
Rate this book
Clear rating
VOMIT (Antología de joven p...
by
3.95 of 5 stars 3.95 avg rating — 19 ratings — published 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open the Door: How to Excit...
by
4.1 of 5 stars 4.10 avg rating — 21 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Alphabets & Portraits
5.0 of 5 stars 5.00 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2005
Rate this book
Clear rating
Poor Claudia - No. 5, Vol. ...
by
4.83 of 5 stars 4.83 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Dorothea Lasky…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Dorothea's Recent Updates

Dorothea is now friends with Moinak Dutta
44033018
Rome by Dorothea Lasky
"Ripples in the rye "
Dorothea and 1 other person liked Alejandro Morales's review of Rome: Poems:
Rome by Dorothea Lasky
"Let's speak about beauty. Let's speak about wonder. Let's speak about Rome. Not precisely the city but the great book of poems by Dorothea Lasky. The reader can find in each page of this book multiple roads that lead to the pleasure of reading poe..." Read more of this review »
Dorothea rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Educated Imagination by Northrop Frye
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dorothea rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Open by Giorgio Agamben
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dorothea rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Late Parade by Adam Fitzgerald
The Late Parade: Poems
by Adam Fitzgerald (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dorothea rated a book 5 of 5 stars
On Being Blue by William H. Gass
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dorothea rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Stymie Magazine, Autumn & Winter 2010 by Ben Nickol
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dorothea rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Teachers & Writers Handbook of Poetic Forms by Ron Padgett
Rate this book
Clear rating
Dorothea rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Trees the Trees by Heather Christle
The Trees the Trees
by Heather Christle (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Dorothea's books…
“I reached deep in you and pulled out a cardinal which in bright red flew out the window. ”
Dorothea Lasky, Awe

“When people talk about poetry as a project, they suggest that the road through a poem is a single line. When really the road through a poem is a series of lines, like a constellation, all interconnected. Poems take place in the realm of chance, where the self and the universal combine, where life exist. I can’t suggest to you that going through a line that is more like a constellation than a road is easy—or that the blurring of the self and the universal doesn’t shred a poet a little bit in the process. The terrain of a poem is unmapped (including the shapes of the trees along the constellation-road). A great poet knows never to expect sun or rain or cold or wind in the process of creating a poem. In a great poem all can come to the fore at once. It would be worse yet, if none are there at all.”
Dorothea Lasky

“Each time we don't say what we wanna say, we're dying.”
Yoko Ono

1897 Kenyons Minions — 2448 members — last activity 3 hours, 54 min ago
Welcome to a group for fans of Sherrilyn Kenyon and Kinley MacGregor (also known as the AG or Author Goddess *wink*). Sherri writes the following ser ...more
1898 J. R. Ward (BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD series) — 6668 members — last activity 3 hours, 30 min ago
For fans of the BLACK DAGGER BROTHERHOOD series written by J.R. Ward (aka The WARDen). If you love those hot, alpha, BDB males and those sexy Fallen A ...more
6783 New Authors! Share News! — 326 members — last activity Dec 14, 2014 05:19PM
Well, a lot has happened. I am the Mom of a one-year old and have stopped blogging about new authors to focus on my son and publishing my own novels. ...more
9578 Dusie Press Books — 198 members — last activity Jul 13, 2009 07:17AM
*poetry poetry poetry* bookbooks, chaps, e-chaps by Dusie Press authors... All Books listed here are by poets published by Dusie Press, via the chap p ...more
Comments (showing 1-6 of 6)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

Daniel
Dorothea, I've added your book Awe to my to-read list.


Dorothea Thank you!

Take care,
Dorothea


Sundang Saputra Ho Dorothea...
nice to know you, thanks 4 being my friend


message 4: by Derek

Derek Schneider Thanks for adding me. The first chapters of Avenging Autumn and The Wintermen are on my profile now.


message 5: by §--

§-- Hi!

We studied you in my creative writing class in college. They didn't tell me that you were cute though.


Annalisa Marí Hi Dorothea!

I translated one of your poems for Quimera magazine here in Spain... what a pleasure it was! I hope to keep doing so, if all goes well, in the near future!

Hug from Spain!


back to top