John J. Horn




Paul Wi...
250 books | 48 friends

Bethany
1,053 books | 69 friends

Micaiah
582 books | 74 friends

Melissa
4,027 books | 114 friends

Olivia
1,026 books | 90 friends

Joshua ...
258 books | 101 friends

Ryan M ...
999 books | 160 friends

Joshua ...
298 books | 79 friends

More friends…



John J. Horn

Goodreads Author


Born
The United States
Website

Genre

Member Since
January 2011

URL


As the youngest child in a book-loving family, it took me a while to realize that there was such a thing as a boring book.

My special love has been the fiction of 19th-century authors such as G.A. Henty, R.M. Ballantyne, James Fenimore Cooper, Jules Verne, Robert Louis Stevenson, Charles Dickens, and more. Of course, these were imperfect men who wrote imperfect stories, but the themes they espoused, such as courage, diligence, mercy, protecting the weak, and fighting for the right has greatly influenced my writing. Although I don't seek to replicate their styles, I do find inspiration in their tales of adventure, and seek to communicate that in fresh ways to a new generation.

The greatest influence in my life has been my faith in God. I am a
...more

To ask John J. Horn questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

John J. Horn Hi Justus,

Thanks for asking! It's in progress right now. I have no firm release date set, but I anticipate finishing it sometime later this year.
John J. Horn Great question, Sarah!

When I wrote 'The Boy Colonel' the twins were not in the picture. When I went to write 'Brothers at Arms' I realized that since…more
Great question, Sarah!

When I wrote 'The Boy Colonel' the twins were not in the picture. When I went to write 'Brothers at Arms' I realized that since both stories were in the same time period, I could connect them, and I had a blast doing so in 'Secret of the Lost Settlement'.(less)
Average rating: 4.33 · 211 ratings · 37 reviews · 9 distinct works · Similar authors
Brothers at Arms: Treasure ...

4.48 avg rating — 71 ratings — published 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Boy Colonel: A Soldier ...

4.30 avg rating — 63 ratings — published 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
Secret of the Lost Settleme...

4.10 avg rating — 42 ratings — published 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
Brothers at Arms: Treasure ...

4.62 avg rating — 13 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Boy Colonel: A Soldier ...

4.75 avg rating — 4 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Secret of the Lost Settleme...

4.33 avg rating — 3 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jonathan Park: A Startling ...

by
3.71 avg rating — 7 ratings — published 2013 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jonathan Park: A New Beginn...

by
4.50 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2013 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jonathan Park: Return to Hi...

by
really liked it 4.00 avg rating — 4 ratings — published 2013 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by John J. Horn…
The Boy Colonel: A Soldier ... Brothers at Arms: Treasure ...
Men of Grit Adventure Series (2 books)
by
4.40 avg rating — 134 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

John’s Recent Updates

John Horn is now friends with Ryan M Marks
20829336
The Wright Brothers by David McCullough
John Horn rated a book it was amazing
Grace Triumphant by Alicia A. Willis
Rate this book
Clear rating
A novel centered around the 18th-century slave trade may not sound like a cheerful read, but Grace Triumphant delivers a solid message of hope intertwined with an exciting historical tale.

Russell Lawrence captains a slave trader that makes the triang
...more
Hostage Lands by Douglas Bond
" Micaiah wrote: "Did you like this book?"

Definitely. It's one of my favorite Douglas Bond books. I think you would like it.
"
The Best of Wodehouse by P.G. Wodehouse
“Freddie experienced the sort of abysmal soul-sadness which afflicts one of Tolstoy's Russian peasants when, after putting in a heavy day's work strangling his father, beating his wife, and dropping the baby into the city's reservoir, he turns to the cupboards, only to find the vodka bottle empty.”
P.G. Wodehouse
John Horn and 1 other person liked Alicia Willis's status update
Alicia Willis
Alicia Willis added a status update: Whoa, everybody! Thanks for voting for "From the Dark to the Dawn" on the 2014 Religious Releases list. It's number #1 and leading by 300 points!
2448
“It is a great thing to start life with a small number of really good books which are your very own.”
Arthur Conan Doyle
More of John's books…
“Where in the Bible does the young woman initiate a marriage?' Nobody asked bitterly.

'Ahem, well, now that you mention it, in the book of Ruth.”
John J. Horn, The Boy Colonel: A Soldier Without a Name

“Three nights later, Lawrence sipped punch and watched the dancing couples flit by... They [the girls] all looked like balloons which had been squeezed in the middle and puffed out at the bottom. Thankfully, Pacarina's style was simpler. She could walk into a room without dusting both door posts, and her waist didn't look like shed was trying to fit a finger ring over it.”
John J. Horn

“Lawrence Stoning called Chester Stoning's hat, The Eyesore.”
John J. Horn

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Goodreads Librari...: This topic has been closed to new comments. Goodreads Author profiles needing merging BY GR STAFF pt. 6 937 554 Sep 25, 2013 09:44AM  
You'll love this ...: Jean's Geography Lesson 2016 8 25 Dec 29, 2015 04:21AM  
“What, did you think," she asked, laughing as he struggled up the bank, "that I, a Gaulish maiden, could not swim?"
"I did not think anything about it," Malchus said; "I saw you pushed in and followed without thinking at all."
Although they imperfectly understood each other's words the meaning was clear; the girl put her hand on his shoulder and looked frankly up in his face.
"I thank you," she said, "just the same as if you had saved my life. You meant to do so, and it was very good of you, a great chief of this army, to hazard your life for a Gaulish maiden. Clotilde will never forget.”
G.A. Henty, The Young Carthaginian

“Once upon a time in the dead of winter in the Dakota Territory, Theodore Roosevelt took off in a makeshift boat down the Little Missouri River in pursuit of a couple of thieves who had stolen his prized rowboat. After several days on the river, he caught up and got the draw on them with his trusty Winchester, at which point they surrendered. Then Roosevelt set off in a borrowed wagon to haul the thieves cross-country to justice. They headed across the snow-covered wastes of the Badlands to the railhead at Dickinson, and Roosevelt walked the whole way, the entire 40 miles. It was an astonishing feat, what might be called a defining moment in Roosevelt’s eventful life. But what makes it especially memorable is that during that time, he managed to read all of Anna Karenina. I often think of that when I hear people say they haven’t time to read.”
David McCullough

“To be a true hero you must be a true Christian. To sum up then, heroism is largely based on two qualities- truthfulness and unselfishness, a readiness to put one's own pleasures aside for that of others, to be courteous to all, kind to those younger than yourself, helpful to your parents, even if helpfulness demands some slight sacrifice of your own pleasure. . .you must remember that these two qualities are the signs of Christian heroism.”
G.A. Henty

“I tell you, those Spaniards are rank cowards, as all bullies are. They pray to a woman, the idolatrous rascals! and no wonder they fight like women.”
Charles Kinglsey

“The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.”
Edmund Burke

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 70203 members — last activity 1 minute ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
25x33 For the Fans of G.A. Henty and R.M. Ballantyne — 11 members — last activity Apr 08, 2015 12:02PM
A group for the fans of G.A. Henty and R.M. Ballantyne's works.
48310 Jules Verne — 72 members — last activity Aug 21, 2016 03:55PM
Travel with us through the pages of Jules Verne and explore adventures new and old.



Comments (showing 1-2)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Micaiah Thanks for accepting me!!!


Abigail Mitchell Thanks for accepting me!


back to top