Jeanne Thornton




Colette...
1 book | 223 friends

R.J.
1,222 books | 123 friends

Imogen
656 books | 659 friends

rosalind
1,622 books | 143 friends

Julai
822 books | 78 friends

paco
516 books | 76 friends

Emma Da...
22 books | 41 friends

Rahul K...
657 books | 891 friends

More friends…



Jeanne Thornton

Goodreads Author


Born
in Muskegon, MI, The United States
Website

Genre

Influences

Member Since
October 2007

URL


Jeanne Thornton lives and writes in New Orleans. She is copublisher of Instar Books and the alt-comics newspaper Rocksalt, as well as the creator of the comic strips "The Man Who Hates Fun" and "Bad Mother." She has an undying love for the Beach Boys and is writing her next novel about them. She maintains a website at fictioncircus.com/Jeanne.

Average rating: 4.13 · 253 ratings · 51 reviews · 5 distinct works · Similar authors
The Dream of Doctor Bantam

4.04 avg rating — 101 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Black Emerald

4.84 avg rating — 19 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Procyon Science Fiction Ant...

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 3 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tales of Two Cities: The Be...

by
3.90 avg rating — 171 ratings — published 2014 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Where we're going we don't ...

by
4.57 avg rating — 14 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Jeanne Thornton…

I like the idea that an
anger so profound it cannot be dispelled, can only be turned back on the self

is the secret spice of trans women’s writing as a literary mode: the cool
Borgesian spectacle of a trained tiger pacing in sustained rage at its
circumstances that ultimately attacks its trainer, an exciting spectacle that
sells lots of tickets.

1 like ·   •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on May 30, 2017 12:01 • 5 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Traitor Baru ...
Jeanne Thornton is currently reading
by Seth Dickinson (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Civilization and ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Penguin Dicti...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Jeanne’s Recent Updates

Jeanne Thornton wants to read
Nine-tenths of the Law by Hannah Dobbz
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton wants to read
The Revolution of Every Day by Cari Luna
The Revolution of Every Day
by Cari Luna (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton wants to read
A Plague on Your Houses by Deborah Wallace
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton wants to read
The Wretched of the Earth by Frantz Fanon
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton wants to read
In the Center of the Fire by James Wasserman
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton wants to read
Walk Through Walls by Marina Abramović
Rate this book
Clear rating
Meanwhile, Elsewhere by Cat Fitzpatrick
"What are we reading?: Meanwhile, Elsewhere, Science Fiction and Fantasy from Transgender Writers, edited by Cat Fitzpatrick and Casey Plett.

Give me the short version: Tired of the same old from your science fiction? Looking for the next read that’..." Read more of this review »
Jeanne Thornton started reading
The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton finished reading
Star.Ships by Gordon   White
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton finished reading
Otros valles by Jamie Berrout
Otros valles
by Jamie Berrout (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Jeanne's books…
Johan Harstad
“It takes vast willpower, luck, and skill to be the first. But it takes a gigantic heart to be number two.”
Johan Harstad, Buzz Aldrin, waar ben je gebleven?

William S. Burroughs
“The junk merchant doesn't sell his product to the consumer, he sells the consumer to his product. He does not improve and simplify his merchandise. He degrades and simplifies the client.”
William S. Burroughs, Naked Lunch

William S. Burroughs
“You see, control can never be a means to any practical end...It can never be a means to anything but more control...like junk..”
William S. Burroughs, Naked Lunch

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 72943 members — last activity 1 minute ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 210 members — last activity Apr 12, 2017 03:35PM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
10105 Gold Wake Press — 193 members — last activity May 21, 2010 02:18AM
Gold Wake Press publishes poetry, & plays/novels-in-verse.
10871 The New Weird — 251 members — last activity Jan 07, 2017 08:11AM
I am not starting this group because I feel I know a lot about the New Weird. Quite the contrary. I'm starting the group because I don't know much, bu ...more



No comments have been added yet.