Jeanne Thornton




rosalind
1,615 books | 136 friends

Pam
Pam
926 books | 145 friends

paco
461 books | 75 friends

Emily
558 books | 65 friends

Jon
Jon
500 books | 338 friends

Oriana
1,770 books | 1,154 friends

Michael...
111 books | 2,618 friends

Deb Jan...
570 books | 112 friends

More friends…



Jeanne Thornton

Goodreads Author


Born
in Muskegon, MI, The United States
Website

Genre

Influences

Member Since
October 2007

URL


Jeanne Thornton lives and writes in New Orleans. She is copublisher of Instar Books and the alt-comics newspaper Rocksalt, as well as the creator of the comic strips "The Man Who Hates Fun" and "Bad Mother." She has an undying love for the Beach Boys and is writing her next novel about them. She maintains a website at fictioncircus.com/Jeanne.

Average rating: 4.16 · 240 ratings · 46 reviews · 5 distinct works · Similar authors
The Dream of Doctor Bantam

4.04 avg rating — 100 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Black Emerald

4.84 avg rating — 19 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Procyon Science Fiction Ant...

by
it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 3 ratings2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tales of Two Cities: The Be...

by
3.95 avg rating — 157 ratings — published 2014 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Where we're going we don't ...

by
4.57 avg rating — 14 ratings — published 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Jeanne Thornton…

On the ground beside us, Brian, a tumbleweed was growing. Kali tragus: an invader species,
initially almost a fruit before growing sharp, untouchable; extending as far as
it can before dying young, leaving only a brittle cloud, all extension and motion.
The dead plant that can get you to where you need to go. And creating one is
easy: you just have to know the best place to plant an evil seed.

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on March 10, 2017 09:17 • 2 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Civilization and ...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
The Penguin Dicti...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
I’ve Got a Time Bomb
Jeanne Thornton is currently reading
by Sybil Lamb (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Jeanne’s Recent Updates

Jeanne Thornton rated a book it was amazing
Getting Off by Jonathan Reiss
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton wants to read
Swimmer Among the Stars by Kanishk Tharoor
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton wants to read
The Invention of Angela Carter by Edmund Gordon
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jeanne Thornton wants to read
The Traitor Baru Cormorant by Seth Dickinson
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Chaos Protocols by Gordon   White
"There's a lot of things I really like about this book, and I do recommend it to anybody in the field. Gordo's managed to pack both a decent, if brief, analysis of the state of both the western economy and the overall western worldview, and of the..." Read more of this review »
Jeanne Thornton is now following
15308329
Jeanne Thornton rated a book really liked it
Star.Ships by Gordon   White
Star.Ships: A Prehistory of the Spirits
by Gordon White (Goodreads Author)
read in March, 2017
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is only not a five-star for me because of the last full chapter in which speculation about the communication practices of nonhuman intelligences + NDEs and remote viewing starts to get into the act. This is my problem as a Debased Mostly Materia ...more
Star.Ships by Gordon   White
"This book is my motherfucking JAM, yo. It hits roughly seventy percent of the intellectual goodie spots that make my brain say "Oh yeah, RIGHT THERE BABY..." My only real complaints are 1) that it's too short (of course); 2) Gordon coulda spent a..." Read more of this review »
Star.Ships by Gordon   White
"Your microscope and your telescope always belong to you.
Go, burn a little incense, out under the Stars."
Jeanne Thornton rated a book liked it
The Mortifications by Derek Palacio
The Mortifications
by Derek Palacio
read in February, 2017
Rate this book
Clear rating
I think I would have liked it more if it were a 98-page-long narrative poem, just leaning ever harder into its extremely well constructed and intense allegory without feeling the need to construct ligaments of psychological realism (toward the end ac ...more
More of Jeanne's books…
Johan Harstad
“It takes vast willpower, luck, and skill to be the first. But it takes a gigantic heart to be number two.”
Johan Harstad, Buzz Aldrin, waar ben je gebleven?

William S. Burroughs
“The junk merchant doesn't sell his product to the consumer, he sells the consumer to his product. He does not improve and simplify his merchandise. He degrades and simplifies the client.”
William S. Burroughs, Naked Lunch

William S. Burroughs
“You see, control can never be a means to any practical end...It can never be a means to anything but more control...like junk..”
William S. Burroughs, Naked Lunch

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 70405 members — last activity 1 minute ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
109220 Adventures in SciFi Publishing — 208 members — last activity Feb 25, 2017 07:45AM
Online hangout for readers of Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror. Subscribe to the podcast at: iTunes and Stitcher Radio. Newsletter subscribers are ...more
10105 Gold Wake Press — 195 members — last activity May 21, 2010 02:18AM
Gold Wake Press publishes poetry, & plays/novels-in-verse.
10871 The New Weird — 248 members — last activity Jan 07, 2017 08:11AM
I am not starting this group because I feel I know a lot about the New Weird. Quite the contrary. I'm starting the group because I don't know much, bu ...more



No comments have been added yet.