Mark  Patton




Jeff Ga...
50 books | 372 friends

Tom Gil...
76 books | 449 friends

Rebecca...
525 books | 643 friends

Elizabe...
163 books | 387 friends

Helen
39 books | 182 friends

Richard...
84 books | 48 friends

Petrea ...
106 books | 79 friends

J.P. Re...
168 books | 250 friends

More friends…

Mark is following 0 people

Mark Patton

Goodreads Author


url

born
in St Helier, Jersey
gender
male

website

twitter username

genre

influences
William Golding, Elizabeth Marshall Thomas
Marguerite Yourcenar
Robert G...more

member since
April 2012


About this author

Born in Jersey in 1965, Mark studied Archaeology and Anthropology at Cambridge, and completed his PhD at University College London. He was Curator of Archaeology at the Jersey Museum from 1990 to 1993, and has subsequently taught at the Universities of Wales, Greenwich and Westminster. He currently teaches with The Open University.

Mark's published work encompasses both non-fiction (archaeology, historical biography) and fiction. He is the author of two novels, "Undreamed Shores" and "An Accidental King," both published by Crooked Cat Publications.


My debut novel, Undreamed Shores, will be published by Crooked Cat Publications (http://www.crookedcatpublishing.com) later this year (launch date to be announced shortly).

Set in 2400 BC, the dawn of the Bronze Age, the age of Stonehenge, the novel tells the story of a young man's coming of age against the background of a rapidly changing society.

Swept off course by the tides at the end of his... Read more of this blog post »
 •  flag
1 comment
like  • 
Published on April 19, 2012 23:47 • 127 views • Tags: bronze-age, coming-of-age, journey-narrative
Average rating: 4.47 · 17 ratings · 12 reviews · 6 distinct works · Similar authors
Undreamed Shores
4.3 of 5 stars 4.30 avg rating — 10 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
An Accidental King
4.71 of 5 stars 4.71 avg rating — 7 ratings — published 2013 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Statements in Stone
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 1993 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Islands in Time: Island Soc...
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 1996 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Jersey in Prehistory
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 1987
Rate this book
Clear rating
Science, Politics and Busin...
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2007
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Mark Patton…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Guernsey Lite...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Mark's Recent Updates

Mark Patton rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
Burial Rites
by Hannah Kent (Goodreads Author)
read in July, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Stunningly good historical fiction, very evocative of time and place. How can a novel about the last public execution in Iceland be life affirming? You'll have to read it to find out! Both the reader and the characters know from the outset how it is...more
Mark Patton rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Omeros by Derek Walcott
Omeros
by Derek Walcott
read in April, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
Not a collection of poetry, but an epic novel in verse. It must take some confidence, on the part of an author, to write consciously in the tradition of Homer, Virgil, Dante and Milton, but that is exactly what Walcott does here, continuing a convers...more
Mark Patton rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Colour Purple by Alice Walker
The Colour Purple
by Alice Walker
read in April, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
I really enjoyed reading this book for the second time in my life (it was one of those books that I read as a teenager on the recommendation of a teacher), and for the first time as a writer. It is quite short but very thought-provoking, and astonish...more
Mark Patton rated a book 5 of 5 stars
After Whorl by Nancy Jardine
Rate this book
Clear rating
This novel, the third in its series, follows directly on from “The Beltane Choice” and After Whorl: Bran Reborn.” Each novel carries us forward in time, but each novel also changes the viewpoint. In the first, we followed the fortunes of the lovers,...more
Mark Patton rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Bending the Boyne by J.S. Dunn
Bending the Boyne: A Novel of Ancient Ireland
by J.S. Dunn (Goodreads Author)
read in February, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
J.S. Dunn’s Bending the Boyne weaves together historical fiction (based, essentially, on archaeological evidence) with Irish myth to create an engaging human story set in 2000 BC. At its heart is a conflict between two groups of people: the native Ir...more
An Accidental King by Mark  Patton
" I must confess that while reading this I couldn't help but wonder what one thing about the book really grabbed my attention; something to focus a review on. As I continued, I gradually realized that it was the whole understated approach in this na... " Read more of this review »
An Accidental King by Mark  Patton
" This is a well written novel about the British Great King Cogidubnus, in form of a memoir, covering the events in Britain from the reigns of Tiberius to Vespasian. Very imaginative! I can highly recommend this. "
Mark Patton rated a book 5 of 5 stars
After Whorl by Nancy Jardine
After Whorl: Bran Reborn (# 2, Celtic Fervour Series)
by Nancy Jardine (Goodreads Author)
read in December, 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
The second part of a trilogy is perhaps the most difficult to write. The author has already introduced some of the key themes in the first part (prominent among the themes of The Beltane Choice was the conflict between the Brigantes tribe of northern...more
"I think if the facts are well-documented, you a re free to use them. Perhaps you even have a duty to do so, and I doubt you would face legal difficult...more "
Mark Patton rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Zeus of Ithome by T E Taylor
Zeus of Ithome
by T E Taylor
read in November, 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
Tim Taylor takes a little known chapter of ancient Greek history (the revolt of the people of the Greek territory of Messenia against the Spartans in 370 BC) and weaves it into a human story in which his fictional characters interact with historical...more
More of Mark's books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Ancient & Med...: * What Are You Reading Right Now? ( Hwæt béon ðu bocrædung?) 5181 934 14 hours, 9 min ago  
George Orwell
“It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen.”
George Orwell, 1984

Christopher Morley
“There is no mistaking a real book when one meets it. It is like falling in love.”
Christopher Morley, Pipefuls

22454 Historical Fictionistas — 6432 members — last activity 10 minutes ago
Welcome to Historical Fictionistas! We want to experience all different kinds of HF with all different kinds of people. The more diverse, the better....more
39199 Writing Historical Fiction — 306 members — last activity Jun 30, 2014 10:30PM
I had trouble locating a group dedicated solely to those of us who love writing historical fiction (but if you love reading historical fiction, you're...more
53822 Historical Fiction Fans — 78 members — last activity Apr 14, 2014 01:20AM
Review and chat about historical fiction
66992 Crooked Cat Authors & Readers — 44 members — last activity Nov 30, 2013 10:02PM
A platform for Crooked Cat authors and their readers to discuss their books.
69326 Q&A with David Robinson — 18 members — last activity May 13, 2012 11:32AM
May 10th to June 9th May 10th – June 9th: Coinciding with the launch of his psychological thriller, Voices, written under the pen name, David Shaw, au...more
More of Mark’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.