Karen Booth




Zoe
Zoe
1,101 books | 436 friends

Andrew ...
1,380 books | 1,810 friends

Samanth...
794 books | 915 friends

Jeffe K...
278 books | 717 friends

Gillian...
114 books | 0 friends

Terri Long
356 books | 4,994 friends

Caryn C...
1,061 books | 3,169 friends

Karen
1 book | 354 friends

More friends…



Karen Booth

Goodreads Author


Website

Twitter

Genre

Influences
Curtis Sittenfeld
Judy Blume
Anne Lamott
Helen Fielding


Member Since
March 2012

URL


Karen Booth is a Midwestern girl transplanted in the South, raised on 80s music, Judy Blume, and the films of John Hughes. She writes steamy contemporaries--big city love stories and rock star romances. When she isn't creating fictional hunky men, she's listening to music with her kids, honing her Southern cooking skills or sweet-talking her astoundingly supportive husband into whipping up a batch of cocktails.

To ask Karen Booth questions, please sign up.

Popular Answered Questions

Karen Booth This is tough for me, because when I get stuck, I tend to really get stuck. Tires to the rim in mud stuck. So, I have a few tricks I try to use. First…moreThis is tough for me, because when I get stuck, I tend to really get stuck. Tires to the rim in mud stuck. So, I have a few tricks I try to use. First off, I think about certain key elements of the story and ask myself what it would be like if they were turned around. She never got along with her dead father and always felt like she never measured up. What if she adored her dead father and can't bear the thought of doing something he wouldn't approve of if he were here? Things like that…

The other thing I do is think about my story before I go to sleep. I only do it with the lights off--there's something about that moment when I turn the light off that gets my brain going. Luckily, it only does it for about five minutes. I think through a plot point, turn the light back on, jot it down in the notebook I keep on the bedside table (always there--it must always be there!), and then I go to sleep. This probably wouldn't work for a lot of writers, but I'm a really good sleeper and once it's written down, I feel okay to relax.(less)
Karen Booth First off, I'm not a fan of "aspiring". If you write, you're a writer. If you aspire to be a published writer or author, my best advice is to not give…moreFirst off, I'm not a fan of "aspiring". If you write, you're a writer. If you aspire to be a published writer or author, my best advice is to not give up, especially with the writing. If the writing isn't there, if you haven't put every ounce of sweat you can muster into your book, it won't get you very far. This business is built on rejection and that's not just for those looking to be published. Established, successful authors are rejected every day. You have to look beyond it. Build a support system. Befriend other writers. Educate yourself about the business. Most importantly, write your butt off, and don't give up. It's so easy to give up. Don't do it. You never know what opportunities lie ahead! (less)
Average rating: 3.92 · 1,128 ratings · 290 reviews · 30 distinct works · Similar authors
Bring Me Back

3.99 avg rating — 185 ratings — published 2013 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Rock Starred: Love My Way

3.61 avg rating — 119 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Pregnant by the Rival CEO

3.65 avg rating — 77 ratings — published 2016 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
That Night with the CEO

3.71 avg rating — 69 ratings — published 2015 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Back Forever

4.22 avg rating — 74 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hiding in the Spotlight

4.10 avg rating — 62 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Love My Way

3.24 avg rating — 54 ratings — published 2012 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Long-Distance Lovers

by
4.30 avg rating — 61 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
For Keeps

3.78 avg rating — 37 ratings — published 2012 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
London Calling

by
3.82 avg rating — 39 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Karen Booth…

80s-1600x2400


If you haven’t heard me squealingabout it on Facebook or Twitter, ’80s Mix Tape is out now! This incredible collection includesseven (yes, seven!) all-new novellas about love in the ’80s, each inspired by an iconic song from the decade. It’s such an honor to have my story, Save a Prayer, alongside the work of so many brilliant authors. (For fans of Bring Me Back, SAP isset against the backdrop...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on February 10, 2016 04:00 • 17 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Karen's Recent Updates

Karen Booth is now friends with Mark Krausman
43759509
Karen Booth voted for 50 books on the list Seasoned Romance
Three Little Words by Maggie Wells
Apples Should Be Red by Penny Watson
Breakfast for Two by Jill Haymaker
A Taste of Heaven by Penny Watson
A Will and a Way by Maggie Wells
Vote on this list »
Karen Booth wants to read
A Will and a Way by Maggie Wells
A Will and a Way
by Maggie Wells (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Karen Booth and 2 other people liked Brandee Price's review of Bring Me Back:
Bring Me Back by Karen Booth
"I'm going to share something with y'all...I was ecstatic to be reading a book where the MCs are my age! :) And, I also had this weird coincidental display of physical mannerisms with Claire - one where I'd do something like pull on my bottom lip o..." Read more of this review »
Karen Booth rated a book really liked it
Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed
Rate this book
Clear rating
Karen Booth rated a book really liked it
The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach
The Art of Fielding
by Chad Harbach (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Karen Booth rated a book really liked it
The Catching Kind by Caitie Quinn
Rate this book
Clear rating
Great writing, captivating characters. The romance parts of the story were enthralling and made it difficult to put the book down.
Karen Booth is now following
491379
Karen Booth and 2 other people liked Katherine's review of Back Forever:
Back Forever by Karen Booth
"Claire, Chris, Sam, and the rest are back in this follow up novel.

If you fell in love with Claire and Chris in book 1 (like I did!) this book is a wonderful chance to spend more time with the characters.

One thing I enjoyed in this book in particul..." Read more of this review »
Karen Booth and 2 other people liked Katherine's review of Bring Me Back:
Bring Me Back by Karen Booth
"A truly great book isn't just one that will leave you smiling after you finish reading...a truly great book is one that will leave you thinking. I know I just read a truly great book when I find myself talking about it with my husband after I'm do..." Read more of this review »
More of Karen's books…
“Showing some guy your boobs is never the way to go.” I knew the opposite to be true, that you could get almost anything you wanted if you were willing to take off your bra.”
Karen Booth, Bring Me Back

“Everything I’d ever thought or read or seen of Christopher Penman brewed a frothy chaos in my head.”
Karen Booth, Bring Me Back

“I’d been a devoted fan of his band, Banks Forest, and spent hours every day in my bedroom, high on ditz and hormones, listening to their music.”
Karen Booth, Bring Me Back

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Cover to Cover Ch...: Alyssa's 200 in 2013 12 160 Dec 01, 2013 07:11AM  
Cover to Cover Ch...: Alyssa's 200 in 2014 3 20 Mar 03, 2014 12:14PM  
Harlequin Books ~...: Author events and other news 129 166 May 03, 2016 06:23AM  
“Trying to define yourself is like trying to bite your own teeth.”
Alan W. Watts

“I have great faith in fools - self-confidence my friends will call it.”
Edgar Allan Poe, Marginalia

“The time will come
when, with elation,
you will greet yourself arriving
at your own door, in your own mirror,
and each will smile at the other’s welcome.”
Derek Walcott, Sea Grapes

“Set wide the window. Let me drink the day.”
Edith Wharton, Artemis to Actaeon and Other Verses

“Be reverent before the dawning day. Do not think of what will be in a year, or in ten years. Think of to-day.”
Romain Rolland, Jean Christophe Vol I

156052 Harlequin Books ~THE HOME OF ROMANCE — 1194 members — last activity 1 hour, 0 min ago
Harlequin Books is the global leader in series romance and one of the world's leading publishers of women's fiction. This group is for those who want ...more
182224 Harlequin Desire: Passionate, Provocative Romance — 201 members — last activity May 28, 2016 07:09AM
Sweeping family sagas, dramatic backdrops and larger than life heroes--Harlequin Desire stories deliver high-stakes story lines in glamorous settings ...more
65828 Writers Worth — 1537 members — last activity May 22, 2016 03:13PM
Book-lovers unite! Writers Worth is a group where writerly types meet & mingle, and everyone's welcome to promote books, sites, brands, services, and ...more
73734 Q&A: The Theory of Attraction — 31 members — last activity Sep 02, 2012 10:49AM
I'll be hanging around from July 15 to August 14, 2012, to answer questions about The Theory of Attraction. Curious about Ivan? Want to know more abou ...more
3853 Harlequin/Silhouette series romances — 478 members — last activity May 15, 2016 10:39PM
This group is for people who love to read the various Harlequin and Silhouette series romances...Harlequin Intrigue, Harlequin Blaze, Silhouette Speci ...more
106113 What To Read After Fifty Shades of Grey — 2380 members — last activity 6 hours, 8 min ago
A companion group to my popular WTRAFSOG (What To Read After Fifty Shades of Grey) Facebook page. Authors AND Readers welcome to discuss / recommend a ...more
154447 Support for Indie Authors — 6034 members — last activity 19 minutes ago
I began this group in January 2015 to support fellow indie authors by featuring them on my website blog. Since then it has turned into a great resourc ...more
143204 Shh… [Smut, Heroes & HEAs…] with Alessandra — 5772 members — last activity 7 minutes ago
Shh… [Smut, heroes & HEAs…] with Alessandra is the worldwide group dedicated to the writings of New York Times & USA Today bestselling contemporary e ...more
More of Karen’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-3)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 3: by Renee

Renee Vincent Thank you for connecting with me on Goodreads, Karen! I look forward to reading more of your reviews. Best of luck to you, fellow TMP author!


message 2: by Erick

Erick Thanks for the friending, please feel free to check out my bookshelves, quotes, friends and groups for things that might interest you or you read and forgot about.


back to top