Nicole Baart




Anderse...
1,226 books | 3,913 friends

Jill
971 books | 76 friends

John Sm...
149 books | 4,067 friends

Carole ...
581 books | 263 friends

Bobbie
208 books | 1,713 friends

Bonnie
88 books | 230 friends

Sandra ...
18 books | 757 friends

Paul
155 books | 4,099 friends

More friends…



Nicole Baart

Goodreads Author


born
The United States
gender
female

website

genre

member since
December 2007


About this author

Nicole Baart is the mother of four children from four different countries. The cofounder of a non-profit organization, One Body One Hope, she lives in a small town in Iowa. She is the author of seven previous novels, including, most recently, Sleeping in Eden. Find out more at NicoleBaart.com.


DARK FICTION ASKS




Last week was a hard week, friends. So difficult, in fact, that when my husband and I were able to (finally!) snag a couple of hours alone together Sundaynight we spent a good portion of that timestaring at each other in stunned silence. Who knew back-to-school would be so hard for our family? We’ve done this before–for many years, actually. But the unique combination of transitional grades,...

Read more of this blog post »
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on August 31, 2015 06:44 • 1 view
Average rating: 3.81 · 6,537 ratings · 1,089 reviews · 10 distinct works · Similar authors
After the Leaves Fall (Thre...
3.6 of 5 stars 3.60 avg rating — 1,683 ratings — published 2007 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Far from Here
3.47 of 5 stars 3.47 avg rating — 540 ratings — published 2012 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Summer Snow (Threads of Cha...
3.98 of 5 stars 3.98 avg rating — 486 ratings — published 2008 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Beneath the Night Tree (Thr...
4.08 of 5 stars 4.08 avg rating — 438 ratings — published 2011 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sleeping in Eden
3.84 of 5 stars 3.84 avg rating — 433 ratings — published 2013 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Moment Between
3.6 of 5 stars 3.60 avg rating — 295 ratings — published 2009 — 8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Beautiful Daughters
3.79 of 5 stars 3.79 avg rating — 169 ratings — published 2015 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
All We Ever Wanted
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Snow Angel
by
3.97 of 5 stars 3.97 avg rating — 2,515 ratings — published 2011 — 10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Snow Angel: A Picture Book
by
3.4 of 5 stars 3.40 avg rating — 25 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Nicole Baart…
After the Leaves Fall Summer Snow Beneath the Night Tree
Threads of Change (3 books)
by
3.747792706333973 of 5 stars 3.75 avg rating — 2,605 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Nicole's Recent Updates

Nicole Baart wrote a new blog post
I used to blog. A long time ago in another life. But my calendar says it was just acouple of years ago. Crazy, how time flies.
Life gets in the way... Read more of this blog post »
Nicole rated a book 4 of 5 stars
In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware
In a Dark, Dark Wood
by Ruth Ware (Goodreads Author)
read in August, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Creepy and engaging. This book felt like a campfire ghost story to me, complete with red herrings, damsels in distress, and shiver-worthy moments. A quick, entertaining read!
Nicole rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Pretty Baby by Mary Kubica
Pretty Baby
by Mary Kubica (Goodreads Author)
read in August, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
I stayed up way past my bedtime devouring this book. Mary knows how to paint characters that leap off the page and grab you by the throat. Heidi, Willow, and Chris felt like they could have been my next door neighbors--which made the unraveling of th ...more
Nicole rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Little Black Lies by Sandra  Block
Little Black Lies
by Sandra Block (Goodreads Author)
read in July, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
This book is a wild ride that is beautifully written and very thought-provoking. I couldn't put it down. Recommended for fans of psychological thrillers in the vein of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN or PRETTY BABY.
The Beautiful Daughters by Nicole Baart
"Great book. I really enjoyed it - a quick, easy, engaging read. Strong characters, well developed plot, believable yet surprising twists and turns."
The Beautiful Daughters by Nicole Baart
" I had read and loved some of Baart’s earlier novels, and so decided to pick up this one recently.

Well. It had my heart racing. I was angry, scared, and shaking in my boots. The subtle and sick mental anguish that Adri and Harper are put through..." Read more of this review »
The Beautiful Daughters by Nicole Baart
"I received a copy from netgalley for review.

From the prologue you are sucked into this story. You know there has been a death. Adri lives in Africa as a nurse. She has run away there after her fiancé’s death. She and her best friend Harper blame t..." Read more of this review »
Nicole rated a book 5 of 5 stars
We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler
Rate this book
Clear rating
This was such a powerful book for me. Rosemary was a unique narrator and her story was captivating from the very first page. A beautiful tableau of life, love, and loss.
Nicole rated a book 4 of 5 stars
At the Water's Edge by Sara Gruen
At the Water's Edge
by Sara Gruen (Goodreads Author)
read in July, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sweet, historical love story. The character development was exquisite--I hated Maddie at the beginning of the book and loved her by the end.
Nicole rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Golden Son by Pierce Brown
Rate this book
Clear rating
Not quite as fabulous as RED RISING, but I still couldn't put it down! A little darker, a little grittier, with epic war scenes reminiscent of Lord of the Rings (except set in space, of course). Brown is not afraid to damn his characters and the clif ...more
More of Nicole's books…
“It isn't true that whatever doesn't kill you only makes you stronger...but whatever doesn't kill you does leave you vulnerable to another day.”
Nicole Baart, After the Leaves Fall

“I decided right then and there that if home is where the heart is, my heart has been homeless for a very long time.”
Nicole Baart, The Moment Between

“A life lived outside of the will of the Lord is like trying to climb a waterfall.”
Nicole Baart

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
South African Boo...: Read your name Challenge 26 79 Jul 21, 2010 01:06PM  
Novel Books & Rea...: Level 1 of the Serious Readers Challenge for 2011 658 875 Jan 01, 2012 11:55AM  
J. R. Ward (BLACK...: Quarterly Challenge: First Cut (January-March) 431 286 Apr 04, 2012 03:09PM  
Avoca Book Club: April Titles 1 3 Apr 07, 2013 06:44PM  
The Lost Challenges: R2: Rapid Readers Scavenger Hunt -Items Claimed 360 99 Apr 08, 2013 10:01PM  
“It isn't true that whatever doesn't kill you only makes you stronger...but whatever doesn't kill you does leave you vulnerable to another day.”
Nicole Baart, After the Leaves Fall

“I decided right then and there that if home is where the heart is, my heart has been homeless for a very long time.”
Nicole Baart, The Moment Between

“A life lived outside of the will of the Lord is like trying to climb a waterfall.”
Nicole Baart

“I wanted so much when I was young. I was an endless abyss of want, of need of desperate dreams for myself that defied logic. The promise of what was to come hung like rings around the moon on clear autumn nights; the future was unmistakeable. It was always there, glistening in the dark and suggesting that life was little more than climbing a ladder into the sky, where I could reach up with one hand and secure everything that I had ever hoped for in my grasping fingers.
Oh, I dreamed.
And they are not easy to give up, these dreams.”
Nicole Baart, Summer Snow
tags: dreams

“So much of my life had been spent taking and taking and taking. Thinking it was all about me, believing that everything came down to me and how I felt, what I wanted. Even in my grasping attempts to know God, I did exactly that: I grasped. I sought. Sometimes I waited. But I never opened myself, spread my soul wide as an offering so He could come and capture me. I never let Him run strong fingers through my soil, watering it with His grace so my fruit could grow and grow above the weeds that threatened to choke it out.”
Nicole Baart, Summer Snow

103406 Ask Nicole Baart - Tuesday, May 21st! — 22 members — last activity May 21, 2013 10:08PM
Join us on Tuesday, May 21st for a special discussion with author Nicole Baart! Nicole will be discussing her work including her newest book Sleeping ...more



Comments (showing 1-4)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

Bradley I hope you are having a good day! =)

http://www.cardshark.com/content/view...


message 3: by Kelly

Kelly Moran LOL- Your new book and my book have an eerily similar title! It looks good, I added it to read.
Ah well, pleasure to meet you.
Kelly Moran
home.wi.rr.com/kellymoran


Daniel
Nicole, I've added your books After the Leaves Fall and Summer Snow to my to-read list.


message 1: by John

John Hi Nicole,

I am going to check out your books. The world at large needs more books with positive messages. Keep up the GREAT work!

--John


back to top