D.J. Butler




Scott W...
97 books | 9 friends

Michael...
167 books | 921 friends

Trina
147 books | 86 friends

Michael...
1,130 books | 225 friends

Reading...
388 books | 641 friends

Greg St...
856 books | 1,196 friends

Sarah
163 books | 122 friends

Eric Ja...
1,018 books | 848 friends





D.J. Butler

Goodreads Author


Born
in Salt Lake City, The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
June 2011

URL


D.J. Butler (Dave) is a novelist living in the Rocky Mountain west. His training is in law, and he worked as a securities lawyer at a major international firm and inhouse at two multinational semiconductor manufacturers before taking up writing fiction. He is a lover of language and languages, a guitarist and self-recorder, and a serious reader. He is married to a powerful and clever novelist and together they have three devious children.

Dave writes adventure fiction for all ages.

Read about D.J. Butler’s writing projects at http://davidjohnbutler.com.

Average rating: 3.91 · 608 ratings · 130 reviews · 23 distinct works · Similar authors
Space Eldritch

by
3.81 avg rating — 174 ratings — published 2012 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hellhound on My Trail

3.75 avg rating — 84 ratings — published 2011 — 7 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
City of the Saints

3.88 avg rating — 41 ratings — published 2013 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Snake Handlin' Man (Rock Ba...

3.94 avg rating — 32 ratings — published 2012 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Crow Jane (Rock Band Fights...

4.19 avg rating — 26 ratings — published 2012 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Devil Sent the Rain (Rock B...

4.10 avg rating — 20 ratings — published 2012 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Liahona (City of the Saints...

3.47 avg rating — 32 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Deseret (City of the Saints...

3.94 avg rating — 17 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Timpanogos (City of the Sai...

3.92 avg rating — 13 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Crecheling

4.23 avg rating — 13 ratings — published 2013 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by D.J. Butler…

511LOFhlhcL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_One of the fun things about writing my epic blackpowder fantasy WITCHY EYE (Baen, forthcoming) and now its first sequel (WITCHY WINTER) has been exploring real-world ideas about magic. It turns out, for instance, that right into the nineteenth century (at least), there have been many people who have thought of themselves as good (and maybe even superior, in an esoteric sense) Christians and who...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  0 comments  •  flag
Twitter icon
Published on June 29, 2016 11:08
Hellhound on My Trail Snake Handlin' Man Crow Jane Devil Sent the Rain This World Is Not My Home The Good Son Earth Angel
Rock Band Fights Evil (7 books)
by
3.94 avg rating — 189 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Snake Handlin' Man (chapter one) (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated May 13, 2015 06:33PM
Description: This is chapter one of <i>Snake Handlin' Man</i> (Rock Band Fights Evil, #1). Get the book on Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/122759
Hellhound on My Trail (chapter one) (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated May 13, 2015 06:33PM
Description: This is chapter one of <i>Hellhound on My Trail</i> (Rock Band Fights Evil, #1). Get the book on Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/118450
La Divina Commedia
D.J. Butler is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

D.J.'s Recent Updates

D.J. Butler wrote a new blog post
One of the fun things about writing my epic blackpowder fantasy WITCHY EYE (Baen, forthcoming) and now its first sequel (WITCHY WINTER) has been ex... Read more of this blog post »
D.J. Butler rated a book it was amazing
Death by Cliché by Bob Defendi
Death by Cliché
by Bob Defendi (Goodreads Author)
read in June, 2016
Rate this book
Clear rating
Bob Defendi appears in this book as the source of its epigrammatic chapter headings (“Please. Not another chapter quote.” — Bob Defendi) and also as its protagonist, Bob Damico. For good measure, Death by Cliché features his character sheet and thumb ...more
D.J. Butler made a comment on his review of Fluff Dragon
Fluff Dragon by Platte F. Clark
" This is a must-read for fans of Terry Pratchet and Piers Anthony, recovering (and not-so-recovering) gamers, nerds, and all kids.

Platte Clark has a gi
...more "
D.J. Butler rated a book it was amazing
Fluff Dragon by Platte F. Clark
Fluff Dragon
by Platte F. Clark (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Butler is now following Peter S.'s reviews
18828418
D.J. Butler rated a book it was amazing
Bitten by Danyelle Leafty
Bitten (A Novel of Faerie, #1)
by Danyelle Leafty (Goodreads Author)
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cherrie is sad. She doesn't like her step-dad, or the move that Mom's new marriage produced. Most of all, she doesn't like Grams's blood-clot-induced stroke, and the way it's taken Grams away from Cherrie. All she has to hold on to is a box of old ph ...more
D.J. Butler rated a book it was amazing
Back to Basics by Franz Sidney
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ms. Sidney exhorts her readers to live lives of self-reliance and frugality. In the best of times, such a life is a freer life, less shackled by cupidity for the illusory pleasures of unnecessary things and crippling frivolous debt, but if, as she su ...more
D.J. Butler rated a book really liked it
She by H. Rider Haggard
She (She, #1)
by H. Rider Haggard
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
207
D.J. Butler has completed his goal of reading 50 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
Create your own 2012 Reading Challenge »
More of D.J.'s books…

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
The Green Jell-O ...: Steam Punk 1 9 Apr 01, 2016 08:06PM  
The Green Jell-O ...: Summer 2016 Reading Challenge: Try Three New Authors 74 49 15 hours, 40 min ago  
6417 Robert E. Howard Readers — 269 members — last activity Jun 18, 2016 01:36AM
Justly remembered for his thrilling stories about Conan the Barbarian, Robert E. Howard wrote about many other characters and in genres other than Swo ...more
34146 SciFi and Fantasy eBook Club — 3553 members — last activity 16 hours, 25 min ago
This is for those of us whose preferred format is the ebook ... So, Whether you're a Kindle, Nook, Sony, iPad, Google, or whatever person; come on in ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 24388 members — last activity 2 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
1988 MormonReads — 450 members — last activity May 24, 2016 05:11PM
LDS books
20786 Book Haven — 8893 members — last activity 2 hours, 24 min ago
This is a group for people who enjoy many different genre's. If you are someone who appreciates a good book, regardless of the genre...this is the gro ...more
53792 Indie Book Club — 1528 members — last activity 11 hours, 13 min ago
This group is a book club to compliment the blog I maintain at http://indiebookblogger.blogspot.com We will focus on group reads of indie/small pub au ...more
56429 Return to Exile Lovers! — 4 members — last activity Jan 26, 2012 12:47PM
Fans of the Hunter Chronicles will be glad to join this fan club for this series.If you are a fan join!
58291 Pulp Fiction — 1387 members — last activity 42 minutes ago
Hard Boiled detective novels, noir, and great crime novels (old and new)
3057 Bizarro Fiction — 867 members — last activity Jun 25, 2016 07:30AM
This is a group devoted to lovers of bizarro fiction. Whether you write it or read it, you are welcome here. Come join us in our love of the weird and ...more
108 Horror Aficionados — 11744 members — last activity 4 hours, 49 min ago
If you love horror literature, movies, and culture, you're in the right place. Whether it's vampires, werewolves, zombies, serial killers, plagues, or ...more
More of D.J.’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-8)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 8: by D.J.

D.J. Butler A real pleasure, David! Let me know what you think of Liahona.


message 7: by David

David Brown Nice meeting you at Fandemonium. I've added City of the Saints to my list. My wife and I just moved to Nampa from SLC this last year.


Robert Thanks for accepting my friend request, D.J.


message 5: by D.J.

D.J. Butler Replying to my own comment. I know it's Lannister, for Pete's sake.


message 4: by D.J.

D.J. Butler Some people really love Song of Ice and Fire. Okay, a lot of people do. I couldn't get into it. It was really dark, which is okay, but for me, there nothing to lighten the darkness. I wanted it to be funnier, but Tyrion Lancaster's wisecracks just didn't do it for me. But again, lots of people really, really like it.

Have you tried Steven Erikson's Malazan of the Fallen series? I liked that more, though he's obsessed with dead bodies and assassin characters. But it's got a really distinctive magic system and fantasy world feel to it.


message 3: by Brian

Brian Klemme Well, already looking forward to Witchy Throne. Hopefully by the time you start writing Witchy Throne you will be basking on the front porch of some country cottage in England as a millionaire...
Been struggling to get though Midshipman's Hope - I' don't believe I'm much of a space story guy... Going to start reading Conn Iggulden's series on Ghengis Khan. Have you read the Song of Ice and Fire series ? Would you recommend it? With Borders folding up shop, I intend to buy a few books...


message 2: by D.J.

D.J. Butler Thank you, mon capitan. My agent is working with me methodically through what I've written, and the result of the method is that he hasn't read Witchy Eye yet. I am hoping to get it to editors this calendar year, which will mean I might start writing the sequel early next year, if I'm lucky. Witchy Throne, in which Sarah Calhoun struggles to reclaim the Cahokian throne.


message 1: by Brian

Brian Klemme Dave - completed Witchy Eye - Defininetly Hugo worthy my friend (I seriously give it five stars)...funny thing - I was finishing the book while I was in New Orleans for work (stayed in the French Quarters). When does book two come out? You definitely have a knack for writing! Thanks again for sharing!


back to top