D.J. Butler




Zachary...
727 books | 3,597 friends

Robert
1,886 books | 1,505 friends

Sarah
53 books | 52 friends

Michael...
1,062 books | 127 friends

Platte ...
111 books | 73 friends

Gayann ...
71 books | 14 friends

Nathan ...
344 books | 152 friends

Jaleta ...
258 books | 631 friends

More friends…

D.J. is following 4 people

2011 Reading Challenge
D.J. Butler
D.J. Butler has completed his goal of reading 100 books for the 2011 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2012 Reading Challenge
D.J. Butler
D.J. Butler has completed his goal of reading 50 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »

D.J. Butler

Goodreads Author


url

born
in Salt Lake City, The United States
gender
male

website

twitter username

genre

member since
June 2011


About this author

D.J. Butler (Dave) is a novelist living in the Rocky Mountain northwest. His training is in law, and he worked as a securities lawyer at a major international firm and inhouse at two multinational semiconductor manufacturers before taking up writing fiction. He is a lover of language and languages, a guitarist and self-recorder, and a serious reader. He is married to a powerful and clever woman and together they have three devious children.

Dave has been writing fiction since 2010. He writes speculative fiction (roughly, fantasy, science fiction, space opera, steampunk, cyberpunk, superhero, alternate history, dystopian fiction, horror and related genres) for all audiences. He has written and is writing novels for middle grade, young adult a...more


“Why did they go away, do you think? If there ever were such things.”


“Who knows? Times change. Would you call this age a good one for unicorns?”


“No, but I wonder if any man before us ever thought his time a good time for unicorns.”


– Peter S. Beagle, The Last Unicorn

Read more of this blog post »
 •  flag
0 comments
like  • 
Published on July 24, 2014 08:44
Average rating: 3.88 · 250 ratings · 64 reviews · 17 distinct works · Similar authors
Hellhound on My Trail (Rock...
4.0 of 5 stars 4.00 avg rating — 41 ratings — published 2011 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Liahona (City of the Saints...
3.28 of 5 stars 3.28 avg rating — 18 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Snake Handlin' Man (Rock Ba...
4.07 of 5 stars 4.07 avg rating — 15 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Devil Sent the Rain (Rock B...
4.0 of 5 stars 4.00 avg rating — 11 ratings — published 2012 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Crow Jane (Rock Band Fights...
4.27 of 5 stars 4.27 avg rating — 11 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
City of the Saints
3.89 of 5 stars 3.89 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
This World Is Not My Home (...
4.11 of 5 stars 4.11 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Deseret (City of the Saints...
4.14 of 5 stars 4.14 avg rating — 7 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Timpanogos (City of the Sai...
3.67 of 5 stars 3.67 avg rating — 6 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Good Son (Rock Band Fig...
4.2 of 5 stars 4.20 avg rating — 5 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by D.J. Butler…
Hellhound on My Trail Snake Handlin' Man Crow Jane Devil Sent the Rain This World Is Not My Home The Good Son Earth Angel
Rock Band Fights Evil (7 books)
by
4.0638297872340425 of 5 stars 4.06 avg rating — 94 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Hellhound on My Trail (chapter one) (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated Jan 15, 2012 11:33AM
Description: This is chapter one of <i>Hellhound on My Trail</i> (Rock Band Fights Evil, #1). Get the book on Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/118450
Snake Handlin' Man (chapter one) (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated Jan 15, 2012 11:33AM
Description: This is chapter one of <i>Snake Handlin' Man</i> (Rock Band Fights Evil, #1). Get the book on Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/122759
La Divina Commedia
D.J. Butler is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

D.J.'s Recent Updates

D.J. Butler wrote a new blog post
“Why did they go away, do you think? If there ever were such things.”
“Who knows? Times change. Would you call this age a good one for unicorns?”
“No... Read more of this blog post »
D.J. Butler made a comment on his review of Fluff Dragon
18048980
"This is a must-read for fans of Terry Pratchet and Piers Anthony, recovering (and not-so-recovering) gamers, nerds, and all kids.

Platte Clark has a gi...more
"
D.J. Butler rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Fluff Dragon by Platte F. Clark
Fluff Dragon
by Platte F. Clark (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Butler is now following Peter S.'s reviews
D.J. Butler rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Bitten by Danyelle Leafty
Bitten (A Novel of Faerie, #1)
by Danyelle Leafty (Goodreads Author)
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cherrie is sad. She doesn't like her step-dad, or the move that Mom's new marriage produced. Most of all, she doesn't like Grams's blood-clot-induced stroke, and the way it's taken Grams away from Cherrie. All she has to hold on to is a box of old ph...more
D.J. Butler rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Back to Basics by Franz Sidney
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ms. Sidney exhorts her readers to live lives of self-reliance and frugality. In the best of times, such a life is a freer life, less shackled by cupidity for the illusory pleasures of unnecessary things and crippling frivolous debt, but if, as she su...more
D.J. Butler rated a book 4 of 5 stars
She by H. Rider Haggard
She (She, #1)
by H. Rider Haggard
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
207
D.J. Butler has completed his goal of reading 50 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
Create your own 2012 Reading Challenge »
D.J. Butler rated a book 4 of 5 stars
1356 by Bernard Cornwell
1356 (The Grail Quest, #4)
by Bernard Cornwell
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
I'm a big fan of Bernard Cornwell's Richard Sharpe and Saxon Tales books. This is my first foray into his Grail series, and I have to say I don't like it quite as much.

1356 has a lot of satisfying historical and cultural detail, a great epic setting...more
D.J. Butler rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Strangers in the Land by Stant Litore
Strangers in the Land
by Stant Litore (Goodreads Author)
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
The high concept here is just absolutely terrific: it's (an episode of) the Book of Numbers, retold with zombies.

Litore does a great job of building up a fantasy-type milieu around both what one reads in the Hebrew Bible (the Nazarites are specially-...more
More of D.J.'s books…
6417 Robert E. Howard Readers — 211 members — last activity 10 hours, 7 min ago
Justly remembered for his thrilling stories about Conan the Barbarian, Robert E. Howard wrote about many other characters and in genres other than Swo...more
34146 SciFi and Fantasy eBook Club — 3126 members — last activity 27 minutes ago
This is for those of us whose preferred format is the ebook ... So, Whether you're a Kindle, Nook, Sony, iPad, Google, or whatever person; come on in...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 17316 members — last activity 11 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit...more
1988 MormonReads — 415 members — last activity Jul 02, 2014 01:28PM
LDS books
20786 Book Haven — 7805 members — last activity 15 minutes ago
This is a group for people who enjoy many different genre's. If you are someone who appreciates a good book, regardless of the genre...this is the gro...more
53792 Indie Book Club — 1280 members — last activity Jul 24, 2014 04:25AM
This group is a book club to compliment the blog I maintain at http://indiebookblogger.blogspot.com We will focus on group reads of indie/small pub au...more
56429 Return to Exile Lovers! — 4 members — last activity Jan 26, 2012 12:47PM
Fans of the Hunter Chronicles will be glad to join this fan club for this series.If you are a fan join!
58291 Pulp Fiction — 1099 members — last activity 12 hours, 14 min ago
Hard Boiled detective novels, noir, and great crime novels (old and new)
3057 Bizarro fiction. — 693 members — last activity Jul 09, 2014 07:40PM
This is a group devoted to lovers of bizarro fiction. Whether you write it or read it, you are welcome here. Come join us in our love of the weird and...more
108 Horror Aficionados — 9019 members — last activity 2 minutes ago
If you love horror literature, movies, and culture, you're in the right place. Whether it's vampires, werewolves, zombies, serial killers, plagues, or...more
More of D.J.’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-8)    post a comment »
dateUp_arrow    newest »

message 8: by D.J.

D.J. Butler A real pleasure, David! Let me know what you think of Liahona.


message 7: by David

David Brown Nice meeting you at Fandemonium. I've added City of the Saints to my list. My wife and I just moved to Nampa from SLC this last year.


Robert Thanks for accepting my friend request, D.J.


message 5: by D.J.

D.J. Butler Replying to my own comment. I know it's Lannister, for Pete's sake.


message 4: by D.J.

D.J. Butler Some people really love Song of Ice and Fire. Okay, a lot of people do. I couldn't get into it. It was really dark, which is okay, but for me, there nothing to lighten the darkness. I wanted it to be funnier, but Tyrion Lancaster's wisecracks just didn't do it for me. But again, lots of people really, really like it.

Have you tried Steven Erikson's Malazan of the Fallen series? I liked that more, though he's obsessed with dead bodies and assassin characters. But it's got a really distinctive magic system and fantasy world feel to it.


message 3: by Brian

Brian Klemme Well, already looking forward to Witchy Throne. Hopefully by the time you start writing Witchy Throne you will be basking on the front porch of some country cottage in England as a millionaire...
Been struggling to get though Midshipman's Hope - I' don't believe I'm much of a space story guy... Going to start reading Conn Iggulden's series on Ghengis Khan. Have you read the Song of Ice and Fire series ? Would you recommend it? With Borders folding up shop, I intend to buy a few books...


message 2: by D.J.

D.J. Butler Thank you, mon capitan. My agent is working with me methodically through what I've written, and the result of the method is that he hasn't read Witchy Eye yet. I am hoping to get it to editors this calendar year, which will mean I might start writing the sequel early next year, if I'm lucky. Witchy Throne, in which Sarah Calhoun struggles to reclaim the Cahokian throne.


message 1: by Brian

Brian Klemme Dave - completed Witchy Eye - Defininetly Hugo worthy my friend (I seriously give it five stars)...funny thing - I was finishing the book while I was in New Orleans for work (stayed in the French Quarters). When does book two come out? You definitely have a knack for writing! Thanks again for sharing!


back to top