D.J. Butler




Sarah
118 books | 110 friends

Zachary...
732 books | 3,708 friends

Robert
1,989 books | 1,578 friends

Eric
431 books | 213 friends

Nathan ...
397 books | 156 friends

Platte ...
115 books | 80 friends

David B...
256 books | 504 friends

Eric Ja...
1,017 books | 499 friends

More friends…



2012 Reading Challenge
D.J. Butler
D.J. Butler has completed his goal of reading 50 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2011 Reading Challenge
D.J. Butler
D.J. Butler has completed his goal of reading 100 books for the 2011 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »

D.J. Butler

Goodreads Author


url

born
in Salt Lake City, The United States
gender
male

website

twitter username

genre

member since
June 2011


About this author

D.J. Butler (Dave) is a novelist living in the Rocky Mountain northwest. His training is in law, and he worked as a securities lawyer at a major international firm and inhouse at two multinational semiconductor manufacturers before taking up writing fiction. He is a lover of language and languages, a guitarist and self-recorder, and a serious reader. He is married to a powerful and clever woman and together they have three devious children.

Dave has been writing fiction since 2010. He writes speculative fiction (roughly, fantasy, science fiction, space opera, steampunk, cyberpunk, superhero, alternate history, dystopian fiction, horror and related genres) for all audiences. He has written and is writing novels for middle grade, young adult a
...more


I occasionally remind myself of craft principles by going back to the well and reading a book about writing. This week, I read David Farland’s Million Dollar Outlines. If you’re trying to write your first novel (or your nth novel) and you don’t already own this book, you should buy it now.


Million Dollar Outlines is part of WordFire Press’s Million Dollar Writing series (the hook is that the aut...

Read more of this blog post »
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on July 30, 2015 10:16
Average rating: 3.91 · 431 ratings · 101 reviews · 18 distinct works · Similar authors
Space Eldritch
by
3.83 of 5 stars 3.83 avg rating — 133 ratings — published 2012 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Hellhound on My Trail (Rock...
3.79 of 5 stars 3.79 avg rating — 62 ratings — published 2011 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
City of the Saints
4.1 of 5 stars 4.10 avg rating — 20 ratings — published 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
Liahona (City of the Saints...
3.39 of 5 stars 3.39 avg rating — 28 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Snake Handlin' Man (Rock Ba...
4.05 of 5 stars 4.05 avg rating — 22 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Devil Sent the Rain (Rock B...
4.08 of 5 stars 4.08 avg rating — 13 ratings — published 2012 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Crow Jane (Rock Band Fights...
4.27 of 5 stars 4.27 avg rating — 15 ratings — published 2012 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Deseret (City of the Saints...
4.0 of 5 stars 4.00 avg rating — 12 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
This World Is Not My Home (...
4.09 of 5 stars 4.09 avg rating — 11 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Timpanogos (City of the Sai...
4.0 of 5 stars 4.00 avg rating — 9 ratings — published 2012 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by D.J. Butler…
Hellhound on My Trail Snake Handlin' Man Crow Jane Devil Sent the Rain This World Is Not My Home The Good Son Earth Angel
Rock Band Fights Evil (7 books)
by
3.962406015037594 of 5 stars 3.96 avg rating — 133 ratings

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Snake Handlin' Man (chapter one) (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated May 13, 2015 06:33PM
Description: This is chapter one of <i>Snake Handlin' Man</i> (Rock Band Fights Evil, #1). Get the book on Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/122759
Hellhound on My Trail (chapter one) (Science Fiction & Fantasy)
1 chapters   —   updated May 13, 2015 06:33PM
Description: This is chapter one of <i>Hellhound on My Trail</i> (Rock Band Fights Evil, #1). Get the book on Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/118450
La Divina Commedia
D.J. Butler is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

D.J.'s Recent Updates

D.J. Butler wrote a new blog post
I occasionally remind myself of craft principles by going back to the well and reading a book about writing. This week, I read David Farland’s Mill... Read more of this blog post »
D.J. Butler made a comment on his review of Fluff Dragon
Fluff Dragon by Platte F. Clark
" This is a must-read for fans of Terry Pratchet and Piers Anthony, recovering (and not-so-recovering) gamers, nerds, and all kids.

Platte Clark has a gi
...more "
D.J. Butler rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Fluff Dragon by Platte F. Clark
Fluff Dragon
by Platte F. Clark (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
D.J. Butler is now following Peter S.'s reviews
D.J. Butler rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Bitten by Danyelle Leafty
Bitten (A Novel of Faerie, #1)
by Danyelle Leafty (Goodreads Author)
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cherrie is sad. She doesn't like her step-dad, or the move that Mom's new marriage produced. Most of all, she doesn't like Grams's blood-clot-induced stroke, and the way it's taken Grams away from Cherrie. All she has to hold on to is a box of old ph ...more
D.J. Butler rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Back to Basics by Franz Sidney
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ms. Sidney exhorts her readers to live lives of self-reliance and frugality. In the best of times, such a life is a freer life, less shackled by cupidity for the illusory pleasures of unnecessary things and crippling frivolous debt, but if, as she su ...more
D.J. Butler rated a book 4 of 5 stars
She by H. Rider Haggard
She (She, #1)
by H. Rider Haggard
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
207
D.J. Butler has completed his goal of reading 50 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
Create your own 2012 Reading Challenge »
D.J. Butler rated a book 4 of 5 stars
1356 by Bernard Cornwell
1356
by Bernard Cornwell
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
I'm a big fan of Bernard Cornwell's Richard Sharpe and Saxon Tales books. This is my first foray into his Grail series, and I have to say I don't like it quite as much.

1356 has a lot of satisfying historical and cultural detail, a great epic setting
...more
D.J. Butler rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Strangers in the Land by Stant Litore
Strangers in the Land
by Stant Litore (Goodreads Author)
read in November, 2012
Rate this book
Clear rating
The high concept here is just absolutely terrific: it's (an episode of) the Book of Numbers, retold with zombies.

Litore does a great job of building up a fantasy-type milieu around both what one reads in the Hebrew Bible (the Nazarites are specially-
...more
More of D.J.'s books…
6417 Robert E. Howard Readers — 244 members — last activity Jul 20, 2015 08:37AM
Justly remembered for his thrilling stories about Conan the Barbarian, Robert E. Howard wrote about many other characters and in genres other than Swo ...more
34146 SciFi and Fantasy eBook Club — 3428 members — last activity 16 hours, 15 min ago
This is for those of us whose preferred format is the ebook ... So, Whether you're a Kindle, Nook, Sony, iPad, Google, or whatever person; come on in ...more
26989 Goodreads Authors/Readers — 21302 members — last activity 6 minutes ago
This group is dedicated to connecting readers with Goodreads authors. It is divided by genres, and includes folders for writing resources, book websit ...more
1988 MormonReads — 436 members — last activity Nov 08, 2014 07:16AM
LDS books
20786 Book Haven — 8557 members — last activity 39 minutes ago
This is a group for people who enjoy many different genre's. If you are someone who appreciates a good book, regardless of the genre...this is the gro ...more
53792 Indie Book Club — 1454 members — last activity 16 hours, 11 min ago
This group is a book club to compliment the blog I maintain at http://indiebookblogger.blogspot.com We will focus on group reads of indie/small pub au ...more
56429 Return to Exile Lovers! — 4 members — last activity Jan 26, 2012 12:47PM
Fans of the Hunter Chronicles will be glad to join this fan club for this series.If you are a fan join!
58291 Pulp Fiction — 1283 members — last activity 1 hour, 23 min ago
Hard Boiled detective novels, noir, and great crime novels (old and new)
3057 Bizarro Fiction — 805 members — last activity 20 minutes ago
This is a group devoted to lovers of bizarro fiction. Whether you write it or read it, you are welcome here. Come join us in our love of the weird and ...more
108 Horror Aficionados — 10522 members — last activity 4 minutes ago
If you love horror literature, movies, and culture, you're in the right place. Whether it's vampires, werewolves, zombies, serial killers, plagues, or ...more
More of D.J.’s groups…



Comments (showing 1-8)    post a comment »
dateUp arrow    newest »

message 8: by D.J.

D.J. Butler A real pleasure, David! Let me know what you think of Liahona.


message 7: by David

David Brown Nice meeting you at Fandemonium. I've added City of the Saints to my list. My wife and I just moved to Nampa from SLC this last year.


Robert Thanks for accepting my friend request, D.J.


message 5: by D.J.

D.J. Butler Replying to my own comment. I know it's Lannister, for Pete's sake.


message 4: by D.J.

D.J. Butler Some people really love Song of Ice and Fire. Okay, a lot of people do. I couldn't get into it. It was really dark, which is okay, but for me, there nothing to lighten the darkness. I wanted it to be funnier, but Tyrion Lancaster's wisecracks just didn't do it for me. But again, lots of people really, really like it.

Have you tried Steven Erikson's Malazan of the Fallen series? I liked that more, though he's obsessed with dead bodies and assassin characters. But it's got a really distinctive magic system and fantasy world feel to it.


message 3: by Brian

Brian Klemme Well, already looking forward to Witchy Throne. Hopefully by the time you start writing Witchy Throne you will be basking on the front porch of some country cottage in England as a millionaire...
Been struggling to get though Midshipman's Hope - I' don't believe I'm much of a space story guy... Going to start reading Conn Iggulden's series on Ghengis Khan. Have you read the Song of Ice and Fire series ? Would you recommend it? With Borders folding up shop, I intend to buy a few books...


message 2: by D.J.

D.J. Butler Thank you, mon capitan. My agent is working with me methodically through what I've written, and the result of the method is that he hasn't read Witchy Eye yet. I am hoping to get it to editors this calendar year, which will mean I might start writing the sequel early next year, if I'm lucky. Witchy Throne, in which Sarah Calhoun struggles to reclaim the Cahokian throne.


message 1: by Brian

Brian Klemme Dave - completed Witchy Eye - Defininetly Hugo worthy my friend (I seriously give it five stars)...funny thing - I was finishing the book while I was in New Orleans for work (stayed in the French Quarters). When does book two come out? You definitely have a knack for writing! Thanks again for sharing!


back to top