Cat Winters




Quinn B...
203 books | 4,387 friends

Eugenia...
2,457 books | 725 friends

A.G. Ho...
331 books | 1,886 friends

Kristin
539 books | 429 friends

J.R. Jo...
106 books | 856 friends

Lydia Kang
593 books | 1,563 friends

Rosanne
412 books | 217 friends

Megan S...
278 books | 367 friends

More friends…

Cat is following 3 people

Cat Winters

Goodreads Author


url

website

twitter username

genre

influences

member since
October 2011


About this author

Cat Winters’s critically acclaimed debut novel, IN THE SHADOW OF BLACKBIRDS, was named a 2014 Morris Award Finalist, a School Library Journal Best Book of 2013, a 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults pick, and a 2013 Bram Stoker Award Nominee. Her second novel, THE CURE FOR DREAMING, has been nominated for the American Library Association's 2015 Amelia Bloomer Project and YALSA's 2015 Best Fiction for Young Adults. Her upcoming books include THE UNINVITED (William Morrow/Summer 2015) and THE STEEP AND THORNY WAY (Amulet Books/Spring 2016), and she's a contributor to the 2015 YA horror anthology SLASHER GIRLS & MONSTER BOYS.

Cat lives in Portland, Oregon, with her husband and two kids. Visit her online at www.catwinters.com.


Cat Winters is currently not accepting new questions.

Popular Answered Questions

Cat Winters I love hearing from Portlanders who enjoyed seeing the city represented in the novel! I used various research methods to learn what life was like in…moreI love hearing from Portlanders who enjoyed seeing the city represented in the novel! I used various research methods to learn what life was like in 1900 Portland. Thankfully, organizations such as the Oregon Historical Society and the University of Oregon Libraries have preserved countless historical documents that can be easily read both online and at research archives, so I spent a great deal of time sorting through photos and papers from the past. I also read through scanned copies of The Oregonian from the specific dates used in the novel, which was EXTREMELY helpful in researching daily life in the city during that moment in time. Being a local, I traveled through the city and photographed the historical sites that still exist, as well as the tiny fragments of reminders of long-gone sites (such as the Portland Hotel, which formally stood at the site of Pioneer Square). I also read various books about the city, including Portland: People, Politics, and Power, 1851-2000, by Jewel Lansing, and Wicked Portland: The Wild and Lusty Underworld of a Frontier Seaport Town, by Finn J.D. John. To learn about the local suffrage movement in the late 1800s, I pored over Yours for Liberty: Selections from Abigail Scott Duniway's Suffrage Newspaper, edited by Jean M. Ward and Elaine A. Maveety.

You can catch a little bit more about my research on a recent episode of Oregon Art Beat that aired in October: http://www.opb.org/television/program....

Thanks for asking!(less)
Cat Winters I'm currently working on a few projects. My next book will be an adult novel called THE UNINVITED (HarperCollins, August 2015), and I'm waiting for…moreI'm currently working on a few projects. My next book will be an adult novel called THE UNINVITED (HarperCollins, August 2015), and I'm waiting for the last of the edits for that one. Also in the works are a short story for the YA horror anthology SLASHER GIRLS & MONSTER BOYS (Penguin, August 2015) and a third YA novel, THE STEEP AND THORNY WAY(Abrams, Spring 2016). Plus I've just started writing a top-secret new book. (less)
Average rating: 3.92 · 5,804 ratings · 1,327 reviews · 5 distinct works · Similar authors
In the Shadow of Blackbirds
3.91 of 5 stars 3.91 avg rating — 4,481 ratings — published 2013 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Cure for Dreaming
3.93 of 5 stars 3.93 avg rating — 1,281 ratings — published 2014 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Uninvited
3.72 of 5 stars 3.72 avg rating — 18 ratings — expected publication 2015 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Steep and Thorny Way
5.0 of 5 stars 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings — expected publication 2016
Rate this book
Clear rating
Slasher Girls & Monster Boys
by
4.0 of 5 stars 4.00 avg rating — 22 ratings — published 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Cat Winters…
Good news! Penguin has now released the synopsis and the full list of authors for the August 2015 YA horror anthology, Slasher Girls and Monster Boys . Preordering options are also now available, although you'll still need to wait a little longer to see a cover. I'm thrilled to bits to have a short story appearing in this book.

Without further ado, the synopsis . . .

For fans of Stephen King, N... Read more of this blog post »
 •  flag
0 comments
like  • 
Published on January 26, 2015 18:22 • 15 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Cat's Recent Updates

Cat Winters is now friends with Colette
1481661
Cat Winters wants to read
At the Water's Edge by Sara Gruen
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cat Winters added
A Memory of Violets by Hazel Gaynor
Rate this book
Clear rating
" Jenny wrote: " What under-the-radar book did you love that you think deserves more love and hype?"

Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross. The novel was a fell
...more"
Cat Winters wants to read
The Pirate Code by Heidi Schulz
Rate this book
Clear rating
70863
Cat Winters wants to read
Audacity by Melanie  Crowder
Audacity
by Melanie Crowder (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cat Winters wants to read
The Magician's Lie by Greer Macallister
The Magician's Lie
by Greer Macallister (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Cat's books…
“Don’t ever worry what the boys who don’t appreciate originality think of you. They’re fools.”
Cat Winters, In the Shadow of Blackbirds
tags: boys

“And all the while Stephen started at me as if I were something magical. Not the ugly way other people sometimes stare at me, like he was meeting someone in a foreign country who spoke his language when no one else could. That's how it's been between us ever since. We understand each other, even when we astound each other.”
Cat Winters, In the Shadow of Blackbirds

“Why can't a girl be smart without it being explained away as a rare supernatural phenomenon?”
Cat Winters, In the Shadow of Blackbirds

Polls

More...
“You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.”
Madeleine L'Engle

“It is never too late to be what you might have been.”
George Eliot

“I nearly always write just as I nearly always breathe. - John Steinbeck”
John Steinbeck, The Grapes of Wrath

70863 David Estes Fans and YA Book Lovers Unite! — 2764 members — last activity 17 minutes ago
A Group for all things YA and David Estes
107706 Q&A with Cat Winters — 6 members — last activity Jul 10, 2013 06:43PM
Join critically acclaimed debut author Cat Winters for a discussion group in celebration of her 2013 release, IN THE SHADOW OF BLACKBIRDS. This group ...more
86759 Ask Rachele Alpine Anything and Everything — 40 members — last activity Dec 18, 2012 11:11AM
YA literature is the bomb diggity! I write it and read it, and I love to talk about it! So pull up a chair, get comfortable, and stay awhile.



Comments (showing 1-4)    post a comment »
dateUp_arrow    newest »

message 4: by Cat

Cat Winters Thank you so much, Kim! I'm thrilled you enjoyed it. Your note made my day!


message 3: by Kim

Kim Thank you for your friendship! In the Shadow of Blackbirds is the best book I've read in a very long time. Absolutely loved it and can't wait for your next book!


message 2: by Cat

Cat Winters Genie wrote: "Thanks for accepting my friend request :)
Your novel In the Shadow of Blackbirds looks fantastic and I can't wait to discover more of your work"


Thank you, Genie! :)


Eugenia (Genie In A Book) Thanks for accepting my friend request :)
Your novel In the Shadow of Blackbirds looks fantastic and I can't wait to discover more of your work


back to top