Ann Douglas




Marci -...
2,312 books | 565 friends

Lis Carey
981 books | 105 friends

Livia B...
684 books | 2,610 friends

Kirt Boyd
968 books | 4,488 friends

Ellen R...
89 books | 148 friends

Jennife...
1,841 books | 836 friends

Barbara
630 books | 172 friends

Clare
1,396 books | 283 friends

More friends…

Ann is following 49 people

2011 Reading Challenge
Ann Douglas
Ann Douglas has completed her goal of reading 52 books for the 2011 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2012 Reading Challenge
Ann Douglas
Ann Douglas has completed her goal of reading 52 books for the 2012 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »
2013 Reading Challenge
Ann Douglas
Ann Douglas has completed her goal of reading 52 books for the 2013 Reading Challenge!
 
view books »

Ann Douglas

Goodreads Author


url

born
in Toronto, Canada
gender
female

website

twitter username

genre

influences

member since
November 2010


About this author

Ann Douglas is the author of numerous books about pregnancy and parenting and the creator of The Mother of All Books series:

The Mother of All Pregnancy Books: (2nd US edition, July 2012 and 2nd Canadian edition, June 2011)
The Mother of All Baby Books
The Mother of All Toddler Books
The Mother of All Parenting Books and
The Mother of All Pregnancy Organizers.

Ann speaks at conferences related to mothering, parenting, politics, and technology; and has contributed to the following anthologies The Maternal is Political ("Campaign Confidential"), Mothering and Blogging (Web 2.0: Meet the Mommyblogger"), It's a Girl ("The Food Rules"), and Gravity Pulls You In ("As Great As Trees").

The mother of four children, ages 16 through 25, Ann enjoys cot
...more


Average rating: 3.72 · 1,163 ratings · 177 reviews · 30 distinct works · Similar authors
The Mother of all Pregnancy...
3.74 of 5 stars 3.74 avg rating — 573 ratings — published 2002 — 25 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Mother of All Baby Books
3.71 of 5 stars 3.71 avg rating — 104 ratings — published 2002 — 16 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Trying Again: A Guide to Pr...
by
3.63 of 5 stars 3.63 avg rating — 78 ratings — published 2000 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Mother of All Toddler B...
3.77 of 5 stars 3.77 avg rating — 60 ratings — published 2003 — 16 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Unofficial Guide to Hav...
3.82 of 5 stars 3.82 avg rating — 49 ratings — published 2004 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sleep Solutions for Your Ba...
3.0 of 5 stars 3.00 avg rating — 28 ratings — published 2006 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Mother of All Parenting...
3.57 of 5 stars 3.57 avg rating — 23 ratings — published 2004 — 14 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Canuck Chicks and Maple Lea...
2.92 of 5 stars 2.92 avg rating — 13 ratings — published 2002
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Mother of All Pregnancy...
3.2 of 5 stars 3.20 avg rating — 10 ratings — published 2004 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mealtime Solutions for Your...
3.25 of 5 stars 3.25 avg rating — 8 ratings — published 2006 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Ann Douglas…

Chances are you can think of at least a few people who changed your life for the better along the way. I can think of quite a few people.

My Grade 6 teacher.

The small-town newspaper editor who gave me my first "real" writing job, back when I was in high school.

And my Grandma Bolton, who believed in my dream of becoming a writer, right from day one.

And that's just for starters.

That's why I was ex...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  flag
0 comments
1 like · like  • 
Published on December 03, 2014 06:44 • 7 views

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

The Journey Prize...
Ann Douglas is currently reading
by Various
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Stone Mattress: N...
Ann Douglas is currently reading
by Margaret Atwood (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Salt Sugar Fat: H...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Ann's Recent Updates

Ann Douglas is currently reading
The Journey Prize Stories 26 by Various
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Douglas is currently reading
Stone Mattress by Margaret Atwood
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Douglas is currently reading
Salt Sugar Fat by Michael Moss
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Douglas wants to read
The Spark by Kristine Barnett
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Douglas wants to read
Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
Rate this book
Clear rating
Small Victories by Anne Lamott
"I was so looking forward to reading something new from Anne Lamott, and so disappointed to discover very little new in this book. Most of it I had already read in previous books and magazine articles. I was taken completely by surprise, which I sh..." Read more of this review »
Small Victories by Anne Lamott
"I am a huge fan of Anne Lamott. There are a ton of reasons for this, but they can generally be boiled down to this: she makes me want to be a better person (especially a kinder person) and she makes me feel like it's incredibly possible for that t..." Read more of this review »
Small Victories by Anne Lamott
"This collection of essays is more fleshed out than her previous two. I love Lamott's casual style and self-deprecating manner. She makes grace and spirituality approachable. I particularly like the essays on her troubled relationship with her moth..." Read more of this review »
Ann Douglas wants to read
Small Victories by Anne Lamott
Rate this book
Clear rating
Ann Douglas rated a book 3 of 5 stars
In the Land of Dreamy Dreams by Ellen Gilchrist
In the Land of Dreamy Dreams
by Ellen Gilchrist
read in November, 2014
Rate this book
Clear rating
An intriguing collection of short stories that will appeal to fans of Dorothy Allison, Flannery O'Connor, and other writers in the Southern Gothic tradition. The use of specific detail—shockingly racist language and the repeated (and jarring) injecti ...more
More of Ann's books…
C.S. Lewis
“Integrity is doing the right thing, even when no one is watching.”
C.S. Lewis

Stephen King
“If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot.”
Stephen King

Stephen King
“If you don't have time to read, you don't have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”
Stephen King

Flannery O'Connor
“I write to discover what I know.”
Flannery O'Connor

Margaret Atwood
“I read for pleasure and that is the moment I learn the most.”
Margaret Atwood

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 45715 members — last activity 32 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more
31471 Goodreads Author Feedback Group — 6344 members — last activity 33 minutes ago
This is the official group for authors to give Goodreads feedback about the site, including the Goodreads Author Program, Author Q&A Groups, the newsl ...more
40089 CBC Books — 1361 members — last activity 11 hours, 1 min ago
If you are a fan of CBC Books and would like to connect with other readers, this is the place for you! We focus on reading Canadian literature (both f ...more
1 Goodreads Feedback — 16430 members — last activity 42 minutes ago
This is a place to give feedback about Goodreads. Feature ideas, bugs, or any other suggestion for improvement. The Goodreads staff monitors this grou ...more
5121 Oh Canada — 427 members — last activity Sep 12, 2014 10:39PM
Canadians, please come and share your favourite national literature on the group bookshelf... whether it's books by Canadian authors, those featuring ...more
123749 50 Book Pledge 2014 — 590 members — last activity Nov 23, 2014 06:07PM
The #50BookPledge community is making reading a priority in 2014! Sign up for the 50 Book Pledge at http://50bookpledge.ca and pledge to read anywhere ...more
82820 Ask Anne Lamott - Thursday, December 12th! — 1301 members — last activity Dec 16, 2014 10:21AM
Join us for a special discussion with author Anne Lamott on Thursday, December 12th! Anne will be discussing her latest book, Stitches, a follow up to ...more
44773 Spring Short Story Panel — 217 members — last activity Mar 21, 2013 11:22AM
Four writers are swapping ideas about the precise art and tricky business of writing short fiction! Please feel free to join the group and leave comme ...more
44477 Julie Orringer Discussion Group — 89 members — last activity Feb 01, 2012 04:05AM
Julie Orringer will be available Monday, March 7 through Sunday, March 13 to discuss her bestselling novel, THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE. She's also happy to ...more
33503 Random House of Canada Ltd — 384 members — last activity Dec 01, 2014 02:47PM
This group is for people who love books - featuring the best of Doubleday Canada, Knopf Canada, M&S and Random House of Canada.
More of Ann’s groups…



No comments have been added yet.