Cheryl B. Klein




Lauren
67 books | 239 friends

Ariel
1,436 books | 67 friends

Jenny S...
5,555 books | 172 friends

Rae
Rae
571 books | 1,187 friends

Sarah
120 books | 1,208 friends

Sergio
112 books | 318 friends

Kevin E...
70 books | 247 friends

Felicit...
1,674 books | 285 friends

More friends…

Cheryl is following 4 people

Cheryl B. Klein

Goodreads Author


born
in Warrensburg, MO, The United States
gender
female

website

twitter username

genre

influences

member since
June 2007


About this author

Cheryl B. Klein has worked in children's publishing for over a decade. Among the books she has edited or co-edited are A CURSE DARK AS GOLD by Elizabeth C. Bunce, winner of the inaugural William C. Morris YA Debut Award; MARCELO IN THE REAL WORLD by Francisco X. Stork, winner of the Schneider Family Book Award for Teens; MILLICENT MIN, GIRL GENIUS, by Lisa Yee, winner of the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor; MORIBITO: GUARDIAN OF THE SPIRIT by Nahoko Uehashi, translated by Cathy Hirano, winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder Award for Translation; MORIBITO II: GUARDIAN OF THE DARKNESS, winner of a Batchelder Honor Award; and THE SNOW DAY by Komako Sakai, a New York Times Best Illustrated Book. Cheryl has worked on translations from six different ...more


This appeared today in the Publishers Weekly Children's Bookshelf e-newsletter:
Amy Cherry at W. W. Norton has acquired Cheryl Klein’s book on writing children’s and young adult fiction. Previously self-published as Second Sight: An Editor's Talks on Writing, Revising, and Publishing Books for Children and Young Adults, Klein will be revising, re-writing, and updating the book. Klein is the exe...
Read more of this blog post »
 •  flag
0 comments
like  • 
Published on February 19, 2015 19:13 • 13 views
Average rating: 4.57 · 232 ratings · 51 reviews · 1 distinct work · Similar authors
Second Sight: An Editor's T...
4.57 of 5 stars 4.57 avg rating — 232 ratings — published 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating

* Note: these are all the books on Goodreads for this author. To add more, click here.

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Cheryl's Recent Updates

Cheryl B. Klein wrote a new blog post
Yesterday, the Cooperative Children's Book Center at the University of Wisconsin released its annual report on the number of children's/YA books by... Read more of this blog post »
Cheryl Klein made a comment on her review of Station Eleven
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
" I wasn't talking so much about the actor being unworthy of his fame as his not being interesting enough to be at the center of so much of the action.. ...more"
Cheryl Klein rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Porcupine of Truth by Bill Konigsberg
The Porcupine of Truth
by Bill Konigsberg (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Funny, smart, snarky, with unexpected heart, actual depth, and some of the best dialogue you'll read in a YA novel this year.
Cheryl Klein rated a book 3 of 5 stars
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
Station Eleven
by Emily St. John Mandel (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
A stark, well-written portrait of America twenty years after a massive flu pandemic, as seen through the warp and weft of five characters linked together by an actor and a comic book. I wasn't quite sure the actor justified the page space spent on hi ...more
Cheryl Klein rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Being Mortal by Atul Gawande
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is a book every adult should read with their family -- spouse, aging parents, or adult children -- and then have a frank discussion about what "quality of life" means to you and how you want your last days to go. I am not even kidding. Atul Gawa ...more
Cheryl Klein rated a book 4 of 5 stars
The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
Rate this book
Clear rating
Really excellent literary fantasy-romance, perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore or Elizabeth Bunce.
Cheryl Klein rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Grounded by Megan   Morrison
Rate this book
Clear rating
I love fairy tale retellings, but there are a lot of them out there, so I do not publish them lightly. This one: TOTALLY WORTH IT.

The best way I can describe it is Rapunzel meets Harry Potter (another thing I do not do lightly: make comparisons to H
...more
Cheryl Klein rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older
Shadowshaper
by Daniel José Older (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Cheryl Klein started reading
The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Cheryl's books…
“A book is kind of like a good Horcrux, if we can imagine that -- a piece of the writer's soul, preserved in a physical object for all time, and changing the lives of all those who come in contact with it.”
Cheryl B. Klein, Second Sight: An Editor's Talks on Writing, Revising, and Publishing Books for Children and Young Adults

“This sentence has five words. Here are five more words. Five-word sentences are fine. But several together become monotonous. Listen to what is happening. The writing is getting boring. The sound of it drones. It’s like a stuck record. The ear demands some variety. Now listen. I vary the sentence length, and I create music. Music. The writing sings. It has a pleasant rhythm, a lilt, a harmony. I use short sentences. And I use sentences of medium length. And sometimes, when I am certain the reader is rested, I will engage him with a sentence of considerable length, a sentence that burns with energy and builds with all the impetus of a crescendo, the roll of the drums, the crash of the cymbals–sounds that say listen to this, it is important.”
Gary Provost

“And I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, 'If this isn't nice, I don't know what is.”
Kurt Vonnegut, A Man Without a Country




No comments have been added yet.