Lisa Verge Higgins's Blog

June 22, 2015


The Night Garden: A Novel
For fans of Sarah Addison Allen, Aimee Bender, and Alice Hoffman, The Night Garden is a luminous novel of love, forgiveness, and the possibilities that arise when you open your heart. �� Nestled in the bucolic town of Green Valley in upstate New York, the Pennywort farm appears ordinary, yet ...
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on June 22, 2015 13:44 • 12 views

June 18, 2015

So so soooooooooooooooo looking forward to this historical mystery set in Newport, RI, by my good friend the NYT-bestselling author Shelley Freydont ! Doesn't that cover make you think of a juicy Gothic....???

Timeline Photos
Congratulations to @[210114985675746:274:Shelley Freydont] on a fantastic review of her forthcoming historical mystery A GILDED GRAVE from RT! "An excellent start to a promising new series with endless possibilities." 4.5 stars TOP PICK!
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on June 18, 2015 14:29 • 7 views
Read in Sri Lanka by a lovely Aussie traveler who blogs at Roshan's Rambling -- Friendship Makes The Heart Grow Fonder. What a kick! Happy traveling, Roshan!

Postcard From... Sri Lanka - Emily Luxton Travels
For this week's Postcard From, I catch up with Roshan about her incredible trip to Sri Lanka... Keep reading
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on June 18, 2015 09:13 • 7 views

June 17, 2015

The single most important thing is to show up. So true!!

The 8 Things All Genuine Friendships Have In Common
Now that we're midlifers, the whole friendship thing is a little trickier to master. Chaotic schedules and stressful careers leave little time to nurture a new friendship between people with no shared history. That's just the way it is as you grow older.
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on June 17, 2015 10:35 • 7 views

June 16, 2015

The New York Times Bestselling Novelist of Beach Colors has a new one out today! Now I have beach reading for when the rain finally passes. Whisper Beach -- check it out:

Shelley Noble
Shelley Freydont and Shelley Noble, author of amateur sleuth mysteries and women���s fiction. Novels of small towns with big dreams and deep secrets.
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on June 16, 2015 14:42 • 13 views
Must. Get. This!

Mobile Uploads
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on June 16, 2015 11:13 • 7 views
A story about "friendship, loss, love, the passage of time, the emotional upheaval that can go hand-in-hand with adoption." Thanks Amy M. Reade, especially for the Kristin Hannah comparison!

Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on June 16, 2015 08:50 • 7 views

June 8, 2015

Hey folks, the OTHER author in the family finally set up her Facebook page! She's got a sci-fi novel coming out from Random House in the fall--called LIGHTLESS. I'd be so grateful if you could head on over and "like" her page -- she's an introvert, so it'll freak her out. (Yes, that's how we roll in the Higgins family!)

C. A. Higgins

Author of LIGHTLESS, coming out 9 September 2015.
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on June 08, 2015 10:31 • 9 views

June 7, 2015

Ain't it the truth...?

Timeline Photos
With Oumaima Jawad and 11 others.
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on June 07, 2015 15:14 • 5 views

June 2, 2015

Under the Category "Life With Three Daughters." You listening, girls...?

Timeline Photos
Nigerian writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie offered some brilliant words of advice to teen girls at the recent Girls Write Now Awards about the importance of being true to yourself. Adichie asserts that "all over the world, girls are raised to be make themselves likeable, to twist themselves into shapes that suit other people." To the young women in attendance at the event, she said:

"I think that what our society teaches young girls, and I think it's also something that's quite difficult for even older women and self-professed feminists to shrug off, is that idea that likability is an essential part of you, of the space you occupy in the world... [and] that you're supposed to hold back sometimes, pull back, don't quite say, don't be too pushy, because you have to be likable...

What I want to say to young girls is forget about likability. If you start thinking about being likable you are not going to tell your story honestly, because you are going to be so concerned with not offending, and that's going to ruin your story... The world is such a wonderful, diverse, and multifaceted place that there's somebody who's going to like you; you don't need to twist yourself into shapes."

For a highly recommended new guide for tween girls on how to stay true to yourself in the midst of social pressures, check out "A Smart Girl's Guide: Drama, Rumors & Secrets" for ages 8 to 12 at

For an excellent parenting book that argues that by idealizing the "good girl" who always strives to make others happy, we curtail girls' power and potential, check out "The Curse of the Good Girl: Raising Authentic Girls with Courage and Confidence" at

For another parenting book (which many high schoolers will also find compelling) that addresses how many teen girls spend so much time trying to please others -- parents, teachers, coaches, and friends -- and fulfill others' expectations, they can lose track of what really makes them happy, we recommend ���The Myth of the Perfect Girl: Helping Our Daughters Find Authentic Success and Happiness in School and Life��� at

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is the author of several acclaimed novels including "Purple Hibiscus" (, "Half of a Yellow Sun" (, and "Americanah"(

Founded in 1998, @[40449345976:274:Girls Write Now] was the first non-profit organization with a writing and mentoring model program exclusively for girls. They work with at-risk and "underserved" teen girls across New York City. To learn more about their work, visit
Like  •  0 comments  •  flag
Published on June 02, 2015 08:48 • 13 views