Barb Johnson




Jen Knox
1,472 books | 3,512 friends

Emilie
197 books | 25 friends

Lauren
2,914 books | 174 friends

Marcy D...
269 books | 734 friends

Mark Folse
344 books | 120 friends

Sonja L...
284 books | 220 friends

Jane Deaux
406 books | 83 friends

Matt Pe...
831 books | 186 friends

More friends…



Barb Johnson

Goodreads Author


gender
female

website

genre

member since
October 2009


About this author

Barb Johnson worked as a carpenter in New Orleans for more than twenty years before receiving her MFA from the University of New Orleans in 2008. She has won Glimmer Train’s Best New Voice and her work has appeared in such magazines as Glimmer Train, Washington Square, The Greensboro Review, Guernica and Oxford American. In 2009, she received a grant from A Room of Her Own Foundation, which will support the writing of her first novel. A collection of her short stories entitled, More of This World or Maybe Another, was released by HarperCollins in fall 2009. She lives and writes in New Orleans.



Barb Johnson hasn't written any blog posts yet.

Average rating: 4.09 · 296 ratings · 66 reviews · 11 distinct works · Similar authors
More of This World or Maybe...
4.09 of 5 stars 4.09 avg rating — 293 ratings — published 2009 — 12 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
St. Luis of Palmyra
5.0 of 5 stars 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2009 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Titty Baby
3.0 of 5 stars 3.00 avg rating — 1 rating — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Issue Is
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
What Was Left
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Invitation
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Killer Heart
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Keeping Her Difficult Balance
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
If the Holy Spirit Comes fo...
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Strength of Character: A Mo...
by
0.0 of 5 stars 0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2013
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Barb Johnson…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Reading by Lightning
Barb Johnson is currently reading
by Joan Thomas (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Barb's Recent Updates

Barb Johnson is now friends with Mkswerczek
Barb Johnson rated a book 5 of 5 stars
An Unquenchable Thirst by Mary  Johnson
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is not your grandmother's ex-nun story. Johnson speaks openly and frankly about her experiences as a nun in the order founded by Mother Teresa. While working closely with Mother Teresa, Mary Johnson experienced the holy joy of prayer and the ang ...more
Barb Johnson is currently reading
Reading by Lightning by Joan Thomas
Reading by Lightning
by Joan Thomas (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Barb Johnson rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
Gilead
by Marilynne Robinson
read in June, 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating
Barb Johnson rated a book 4 of 5 stars
Home by Marilynne Robinson
Home (Gilead, #2)
by Marilynne Robinson
read in March, 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating
Barb Johnson rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Bound by Antonya Nelson
Bound
by Antonya Nelson
read in February, 2011
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Bigness of the World by Lori Ostlund
" Lauren, that is what is so great about the book. Ostlund makes the most mundane preferences and peculiarities resonate with us. "
Barb Johnson rated a book 5 of 5 stars
The Bigness of the World by Lori Ostlund
The Bigness of the World
by Lori Ostlund (Goodreads Author)
read in January, 2010
Rate this book
Clear rating
I loved this book. Whether exotic or ordinary, the settings are specific and satisfying to read about. The characters' quirks often made me laugh aloud. One woman doesn't like to wear T-shirts because they "encroach" on her neck.

Delicious, wry quotes
...more
Barb Johnson rated a book 5 of 5 stars
Wrecker by Summer Wood
Wrecker
by Summer Wood (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Summer Wood has a keen eye for place, and for the ordinary moments in life that become extraordinary in memory. Here, she aims that astute eye on a ragtag group living on the outskirts of society, each member of the ad hoc family drawn into the same ...more
More of This World or Maybe Another by Barb Johnson
"4 and 1/2 stars

In the tradition of Anderson's Winesburg, Ohio or Joyce's Dubliners, (or a more recent example, Elizabeth's Strout's Olive Kitteridge) this short story collection is linked by setting, character and theme -- all strong elements here..." Read more of this review »
More of Barb's books…
“There's real trouble in the world. The kind that can't be fixed. The kind we lie awake keeping vigil against. Love is not trouble. It's all we have to light our days, to bring music to the time we've been given.”
Barb Johnson, More of This World or Maybe Another

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
You'll love this ...: The A-Team-Booked For Life's Topplertastic Adventure 1348 101 Jun 27, 2014 09:53PM  



No comments have been added yet.