Barb Johnson




Geoff Wyss
407 books | 55 friends

Ellen
173 books | 140 friends

Hayley
1,062 books | 28 friends

Marcy D...
318 books | 842 friends

Judd Evans
410 books | 60 friends

Jane Deaux
411 books | 83 friends

Emilie
593 books | 27 friends

Lauren
3,641 books | 199 friends

More friends…



Barb Johnson

Goodreads Author


Website

Genre

Member Since
October 2009


Barb Johnson worked as a carpenter in New Orleans for more than twenty years before receiving her MFA from the University of New Orleans in 2008. She has won Glimmer Train’s Best New Voice and her work has appeared in such magazines as Glimmer Train, Washington Square, The Greensboro Review, Guernica and Oxford American. In 2009, she received a grant from A Room of Her Own Foundation, which will support the writing of her first novel. A collection of her short stories entitled, More of This World or Maybe Another, was released by HarperCollins in fall 2009. She lives and writes in New Orleans.


Barb Johnson hasn't written any blog posts yet.

Average rating: 4.09 · 413 ratings · 85 reviews · 14 distinct works · Similar authors
More of This World or Maybe...

4.11 avg rating — 350 ratings — published 2009 — 12 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
St. Luis of Palmyra

it was amazing 5.00 avg rating — 2 ratings — published 2009 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Titty Baby

liked it 3.00 avg rating — 1 rating — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Issue Is

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
What Was Left

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Invitation

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Killer Heart

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Keeping Her Difficult Balance

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
If the Holy Spirit Comes fo...

0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings — published 2009 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Don't Quit Your Day Job: Ac...

by
4.02 avg rating — 106 ratings4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Barb Johnson…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Reading by Lightning
Barb Johnson is currently reading
by Joan Thomas (Goodreads Author)
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Barb’s Recent Updates

Barb Johnson is now friends with Mkswerczek
Barb Johnson rated a book it was amazing
An Unquenchable Thirst by Mary  Johnson
Rate this book
Clear rating
This is not your grandmother's ex-nun story. Johnson speaks openly and frankly about her experiences as a nun in the order founded by Mother Teresa. While working closely with Mother Teresa, Mary Johnson experienced the holy joy of prayer and the ang ...more
Barb Johnson is currently reading
Reading by Lightning by Joan Thomas
Reading by Lightning
by Joan Thomas (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Barb Johnson rated a book it was amazing
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Barb Johnson rated a book really liked it
Home by Marilynne Robinson
Rate this book
Clear rating
Barb Johnson rated a book it was amazing
Bound by Antonya Nelson
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Bigness of the World by Lori Ostlund
" Lauren, that is what is so great about the book. Ostlund makes the most mundane preferences and peculiarities resonate with us. "
Barb Johnson rated a book it was amazing
The Bigness of the World by Lori Ostlund
The Bigness of the World
by Lori Ostlund (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
I loved this book. Whether exotic or ordinary, the settings are specific and satisfying to read about. The characters' quirks often made me laugh aloud. One woman doesn't like to wear T-shirts because they "encroach" on her neck.

Delicious, wry quotes
...more
Barb Johnson rated a book it was amazing
Wrecker by Summer Wood
Wrecker
by Summer Wood (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
Summer Wood has a keen eye for place, and for the ordinary moments in life that become extraordinary in memory. Here, she aims that astute eye on a ragtag group living on the outskirts of society, each member of the ad hoc family drawn into the same ...more
More of This World or Maybe Another by Barb Johnson
"4 and 1/2 stars

In the tradition of Anderson's Winesburg, Ohio or Joyce's Dubliners, (or a more recent example, Elizabeth's Strout's Olive Kitteridge) this short story collection is linked by setting, character and theme -- all strong elements here..." Read more of this review »
More of Barb's books…
“There's real trouble in the world. The kind that can't be fixed. The kind we lie awake keeping vigil against. Love is not trouble. It's all we have to light our days, to bring music to the time we've been given.”
Barb Johnson, More of This World or Maybe Another

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
You'll love this ...: The A-Team-Booked For Life's Topplertastic Adventure 1348 103 Jun 27, 2014 09:53PM  



No comments have been added yet.