Terra Elan McVoy

more photos (3)




Ann  Theis
3,462 books | 1,028 friends

Amy Storey
82 books | 141 friends

Stray
916 books | 674 friends

Andy Du...
0 books | 39 friends

Sarina
9,729 books | 324 friends

Aimee
219 books | 2,194 friends

Laura G...
3,163 books | 780 friends

Crystal
2,076 books | 620 friends

More friends…



Terra Elan McVoy

Goodreads Author


Born
Tallahassee, FL , The United States
Website

Twitter

Genre

Member Since
January 2008


I have been reading and writing, basically, ever since I learned how to, and everything I've done has pretty much been connected to those two things. I went to college at a small, fantastic school (with a super writing program) called St. Andrews Presbyterian College. I got my Master's degree in Creative Writing from Florida State. I have worked as an event coordinator at a major chain bookstore; as a freelance writer; a composition instructor; an editorial assistant at an NYC publisher; as manager of an independent children's bookstore, in Decatur, GA, Little Shop of Stories (where I still work as a bookseller); and as Program Director of the AJC Decatur Book Festival.

Terra Elan McVoy is currently not accepting new questions.

Popular Answered Questions

Terra Elan McVoy Read. Read as much as you can, across different genres: fantasy, memoir, Westerns, pirate romances . . . Read articles and interviews, a collection of…moreRead. Read as much as you can, across different genres: fantasy, memoir, Westerns, pirate romances . . . Read articles and interviews, a collection of your favorite author's letters, or maybe their published diary. And as you read, take note of what you like and don't like--which passages move you or excite you, or you think are particularly good. Step back, and look carefully at the construction of the writing. How did the writer piece all of this together to cause this reaction in you? What *exactly* did she or he do? (less)
Terra Elan McVoy Writer's block is uncomfortable for everyone. If I get stuck while in the midst of writing a scene, often getting up to do a chore or take a walk,…moreWriter's block is uncomfortable for everyone. If I get stuck while in the midst of writing a scene, often getting up to do a chore or take a walk, will help jog me out of it. If I'm stuck in a larger way--like I don't know where the story should go next, or why my character is doing something--I know I need to step away from the writing for awhile longer, and work on other projects, or go see a friend, maybe sleep on it. But sometimes I fix my writer's block by allowing something utterly crazy to happen in a scene or a book. I may not stick with it, but writing *through* writer's block (freeing yourself to put down something awful or silly or stupid) can sometimes really help. (less)
Average rating: 3.45 · 9,018 ratings · 1,031 reviews · 8 distinct works · Similar authors
Being Friends with Boys

3.54 avg rating — 4,443 ratings — published 2012 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Summer of Firsts and Lasts

3.43 avg rating — 1,465 ratings — published 2011 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Pure

3.28 avg rating — 1,210 ratings — published 2009 — 8 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
After the Kiss

3.24 avg rating — 953 ratings — published 2010 — 6 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Criminal

3.52 avg rating — 649 ratings — published 2013 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
In Deep

3.02 avg rating — 186 ratings — published 2014 — 5 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Drive Me Crazy

3.72 avg rating — 107 ratings — published 2015 — 4 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
This Is All Your Fault, Cas...

3.20 avg rating — 5 ratings — expected publication 2016 — 3 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Terra Elan McVoy…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Interviews

March 2010, Terra Elan McVoy
" Quick Start SS: What is your motto or maxim? TM: Well, Bernard Shaw once said, "The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and if they can't find them, make them." I have it taped over my dress..." ...More

more interviews »

The Corrections
Terra is currently reading
bookshelves: currently-reading
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Terra's Recent Updates

Terra is now friends with Sean Borja
55509173
Terra rated a book it was amazing
Anna, Banana, and the Monkey in the Middle by Anica Mrose  Rissi
Rate this book
Clear rating
Terra rated a book it was amazing
Making Pretty by Corey Ann Haydu
Making Pretty
by Corey Ann Haydu (Goodreads Author)
Rate this book
Clear rating
All I can say about this book is that it made me want to be a better writer.
Terra rated a book it was amazing
The One That Got Away by Bethany Chase
The One That Got Away
by Bethany Chase (Goodreads Author)
read in April, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
If you are looking for a positively DELICIOUS romance, with fantastic characters, great writing, agonizing suspense, beautiful sadness, and some hilarious truth, then THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY is for you. This book hits absolutely all the right points, a ...more
Terra wants to read
Rules for Stealing Stars by Corey Ann Haydu
Rate this book
Clear rating
Terra rated a book it was amazing
Anna, Banana, and the Friendship Split by Anica Mrose  Rissi
Rate this book
Clear rating
Deeper review TK, but this is adorable AND substantive! Perfect balance of both(and well written, which is a huge plus) for fans of Clementine or Ivy and Bean.
Terra rated a book it was amazing
The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma
The Walls Around Us
by Nova Ren Suma
read in April, 2015
Rate this book
Clear rating
Absolute. Perfection.
Criminal by Terra Elan McVoy
"Nikki's head is a sad and confusing place to be, but that is where the reader must remain throughout Criminal. I, for one, am glad that we only got her point of view because I'm not sure I would have felt so much sympathy for her had we watched it..." Read more of this review »
Criminal by Terra Elan McVoy
"Powerful and raw! This book will grab your attention and keep it. It was a different type of read, but terribly profound on so many levels."
More of Terra's books…
“and it is hard to let go, to imagine alternatives, but you are bold with unknowing, you are ready to explore.”
Terra Elan McVoy, After the Kiss

“I wasn't aware that was how I felt, either, until it was out. And now that I've said it like that, I'm not exactly sure it is how I feel. But this isn't a piece of paper I can crumple up and throw away. they aren't words I can cross out to start over. Now they're out, and I know they'll hang here, between us, maybe forever.”
Terra Elan McVoy, Being Friends with Boys

“I’m tired of pretending, tired of acting like everything’s okay, tired of not being with him…”
Terra Elan McVoy, The Summer of Firsts and Lasts

Topics Mentioning This Author

“...to be paid for one's joy is to steal.”
Mark Helprin, Winter's Tale

“Do not read, as children do, to amuse yourself, or like the ambitious, for the purpose of instruction. No, read in order to live.”
Gustave Flaubert

“Everyone has talent. What's rare is the courage to follow it to the dark places where it leads.”
Erica Jong

“and it is hard to let go, to imagine alternatives, but you are bold with unknowing, you are ready to explore.”
Terra Elan McVoy, After the Kiss

“I wasn't aware that was how I felt, either, until it was out. And now that I've said it like that, I'm not exactly sure it is how I feel. But this isn't a piece of paper I can crumple up and throw away. they aren't words I can cross out to start over. Now they're out, and I know they'll hang here, between us, maybe forever.”
Terra Elan McVoy, Being Friends with Boys

61659 YA Saves Reading Challenge Group — 95 members — last activity Jun 20, 2012 02:28PM
Young Adult Book Challenge Group that focuses on reading those "tough" subject books. Challenge Website: http://www.patriciasparticularity.com/2011/12 ...more
62103 THE GREATEST YA BOOK CLUB EVER!!! <3 — 27 members — last activity Jun 24, 2012 07:51PM
this is a place for awesome people to bring all their awesome-ness into one place! we will have polls and discussions galore!:) thanks for joining!! 3 ...more



No comments have been added yet.