Terry Pratchett

more photos (1)





Terry Pratchett

Author profile


born
in Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire, England, The United Kingdom
April 28, 1948

gender
male

website

genre

influences
P. G. Wodehouse, G. K. Chesterton, Lloyd Alexander


About this author

Sir Terry Pratchett sold his first story when he was thirteen, which earned him enough money to buy a second-hand typewriter. His first novel, a humorous fantasy entitled The Carpet People, appeared in 1971 from the publisher Colin Smythe.

Terry worked for many years as a journalist and press officer, writing in his spare time and publishing a number of novels, including his first Discworld novel, The Color of Magic, in 1983. In 1987, he turned to writing full time and has not looked back since.

To date there are over books in the Discworld series, of which four (so far) are written for children. The first of these, The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents, won the Carnegie Medal.

A non-Discworld book, Good Omens, his 1990 collaboration
...more


Terry Pratchett isn't a Goodreads Author (yet), but he does have a blog, so here are some recent posts imported from his feed.

Feast your ears on this sneak preview of the Radio 4 drama, starring Colin Morgan, Charlotte Ritchie and many more…


For fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman’s comic fantasy novel Good Omens, it’ll be a long two-week wait until its Radio 4 adaptation begins on the 22ndDecember– but we’re letting you peek under the Christmas tree early.


RadioTimes.com can reveal some of the Good Omens cast speak...

Read more of this blog post »
 •  flag
0 comments
12 likes · like  • 
Published on December 10, 2014 09:30 • 587 views
Average rating: 4.11 · 2,191,767 ratings · 63,303 reviews · 203 distinct works · Similar authors
Good Omens: The Nice and Ac...
by
4.26 of 5 stars 4.26 avg rating — 220,954 ratings — published 1990 — 93 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Color of Magic (Discwor...
3.94 of 5 stars 3.94 avg rating — 148,774 ratings — published 1983 — 122 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mort (Discworld, #4)
4.16 of 5 stars 4.16 avg rating — 87,609 ratings — published 1987 — 20 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Guards! Guards! (Discworld,...
4.27 of 5 stars 4.27 avg rating — 78,892 ratings — published 1989 — 81 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Night Watch (Discworld, #29)
4.44 of 5 stars 4.44 avg rating — 61,372 ratings — published 2002 — 53 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Going Postal (Discworld, #33)
4.32 of 5 stars 4.32 avg rating — 59,183 ratings — published 2004 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Equal Rites (Discworld, #3)
3.93 of 5 stars 3.93 avg rating — 67,010 ratings — published 1987 — 86 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Small Gods (Discworld, #13)
4.24 of 5 stars 4.24 avg rating — 60,189 ratings — published 1992 — 68 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Light Fantastic (Discwo...
3.88 of 5 stars 3.88 avg rating — 59,270 ratings — published 1986 — 94 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
The Wee Free Men (Discworld...
4.22 of 5 stars 4.22 avg rating — 49,242 ratings — published 2003 — 74 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Terry Pratchett…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

Interviews

June 2012, Terry Pratchett
"Visit another world with just the flick of a switch! The fantasy wizard and science fiction expert team up for The Long Earth, a novel about infinite migration across worlds." ...More

more interviews »

“The trouble with having an open mind, of course, is that people will insist on coming along and trying to put things in it.”
Terry Pratchett, Diggers

“Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day, but set fire to him and he's warm for the rest of his life.”
Terry Pratchett, Jingo

“Some humans would do anything to see if it was possible to do it. If you put a large switch in some cave somewhere, with a sign on it saying 'End-of-the-World Switch. PLEASE DO NOT TOUCH', the paint wouldn't even have time to dry.”
Terry Pratchett, Thief of Time

Polls

MAY FANTASY: This run-off poll decides which novel will be our May Fantasy Book of the Month!

 
  22 votes, 56.4%

 
  17 votes, 43.6%

comments and details
More...

Topics Mentioning This Author

topics posts views last activity  
Every one's Choice: Book Request for NOV. 25 98 Nov 07, 2008 06:15AM  
The Next Best Boo...: books that made you LOL 126 537 Jan 08, 2009 03:34PM  
SciFi and Fantasy...: 2009 forthcoming books to recommend 32 398 Jan 11, 2009 12:01AM  
SciFi and Fantasy...: What I'm reading in March 83 320 Mar 30, 2009 07:05AM  
The Next Best Boo...: APRILS GROUP READS ARE>>>>> 319 785 Mar 31, 2009 08:23PM  


Is this you? Let us know. If not, help out and invite Terry to Goodreads.