Geoffrey Miller

more photos (1)




Ivan
553 books | 85 friends

Pablo S...
1,763 books | 238 friends

Tim
Tim
664 books | 1,981 friends

Rory Su...
34 books | 8 friends

DongWon
629 books | 59 friends

Charles
288 books | 66 friends

Jose Pi...
1 book | 84 friends

Scott B...
1 book | 254 friends

More friends…



Geoffrey Miller

Goodreads Author


Website

Genre

Member Since
May 2012

URL


Podcasts, blogs, next book:
http://www.thematinggrounds.com/

Geoffrey F. Miller, Associate Professor of Psychology at the University of New Mexico, is an American evolutionary psychologist in the tradition of Richard Dawkins, Daniel Dennett and Steven Pinker.

Miller is a 1987 graduate of Columbia University, where he earned a BA in biology and psychology. He received his PhD in cognitive psychology from Stanford University in 1993 under the guidance of Roger N. Shepard. He was a postdoctoral researcher in the evolutionary and adaptive systems group in the School of Cognitive and Computing Sciences at the University of Sussex, UK (1992–94); Research Scientist at the Center for Adaptive Behavior and Cognition, Max Planck Institute for Psycholog
...more

Average rating: 4.04 · 2,672 ratings · 203 reviews · 9 distinct works · Similar authors
The Mating Mind: How Sexual...

4.10 avg rating — 1,616 ratings — published 2000 — 14 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Spent: Sex, Evolution, and ...

3.81 avg rating — 705 ratings — published 2009 — 13 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mating Intelligence: Sex, R...

by
3.70 avg rating — 10 ratings — published 2007 — 10 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Mate: Become the Man Women ...

by
4.22 avg rating — 341 ratings — published 2015 — 9 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
Extreme Prematurity: Practi...

by
0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Intertextual Explorations i...

by
0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Intertextual Explorations i...

by
0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Intertextual Explorations i...

by
0.00 avg rating — 0 ratings
Rate this book
Clear rating
Software Testing Techniques...

by
3.67 avg rating — 3 ratings — published 2004 — 2 editions
Rate this book
Clear rating
More books by Geoffrey Miller…

Upcoming Events

No scheduled events. Add an event.

River of Gods
Rate this book
Clear rating

 
Bioinformatics an...
Rate this book
Clear rating

 

Geoffrey's Recent Updates

Geoffrey Miller added a photo
Geoffrey Miller is now following Ryan's reviews
74759
Geoffrey Miller rated a book really liked it
Deng Xiaoping and the Transformation of China by Ezra F. Vogel
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book really liked it
Risk Intelligence by Dylan Evans
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book it was amazing
Emotion by Dylan Evans
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book liked it
The Nurture Assumption by Judith Rich Harris
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book it was amazing
The Road to Serfdom by Friedrich Hayek
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book it was amazing
The Black Swan by Nassim Nicholas Taleb
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book it was amazing
The Demon-Haunted World by Carl Sagan
Rate this book
Clear rating
Geoffrey Miller rated a book really liked it
The 4-Hour Body by Timothy Ferriss
Rate this book
Clear rating
More of Geoffrey's books…
“Men write more books. Men give more lectures. Men ask more questions after lectures. Men post more e-mail to Internet discussion groups. To say this is due to patriarchy is to beg the question of the behavior's origin. If men control society, why don't they just shut up and enjoy their supposed prerogatives? The answer is obvious when you consider sexual competition: men can't be quiet because that would give other men a chance to show off verbally. Men often bully women into silence, but this is usually to make room for their own verbal display. If men were dominating public language just to maintain patriarchy, that would qualify as a puzzling example of evolutionary altruism—a costly, risky individual act that helps all of one's sexual competitors (other males) as much as oneself. The ocean of male language that confronts modern women in bookstores, television, newspapers, classrooms, parliaments, and businesses does not necessarily come from a male conspiracy to deny women their voice. It may come from an evolutionary history of sexual selection in which the male motivation to talk was vital to their reproduction.”
Geoffrey Miller, The Mating Mind: How Sexual Choice Shaped the Evolution of Human Nature

“Existing political philosophies all developed before evolutionary game theory, so they do not take equilibrium selection into account. Socialism pretends that individuals are not selfish sexual competitors, so it ignores equilibria altogether. Conservatism pretends that there is only one possible equilibrium—a nostalgic version of the status quo—that society could play. Libertarianism ignores the possibility of equilibrium selection at the level of rational social discourse, and assumes that decentralized market dynamics will magically lead to equilibria that yield the highest aggregate social benefits. Far from being a scientific front for a particular set of political views, modern evolutionary psychology makes most standard views look simplistic and unimaginitive.”
Geoffrey Miller, The Mating Mind: How Sexual Choice Shaped the Evolution of Human Nature

“Scientific theories never dictate human values, but they can often cast new light on ethical issues. From a sexual selection viewpoint, moral philosophy and political theory have mostly been attempts to shift male human sexual competitiveness from physical violence to the peaceful accumulation of wealth and status. The rights to life, liberty, and property are cultural inventions that function, in part, to keep males from killing and stealing from one another while they compete to attract sexual partners.”
Geoffrey Miller, The Mating Mind: How Sexual Choice Shaped the Evolution of Human Nature

220 Goodreads Librarians Group — 64511 members — last activity 28 minutes ago
A place where all Goodreads members can work together to improve the Goodreads book catalog. Non-librarians are welcome to join the group as well, to ...more



No comments have been added yet.